Results 1 to 15 of 15

I installed the Opera Mini browser on my Pearl and though i was very pleased ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    timboritus's Avatar
    timboritus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14

    Problem using Opera Mini-click won't work HELP!!

    Advertisement



    I installed the Opera Mini browser on my Pearl and though i was very pleased with the appearance of the browser and its potential, I am having a VERY hard time navigating web pages with it. I can not seem to get the trackball to work with "clicking" links on the page. It seems that every time i want to click on something i can highlight it with the trackball but when i push down on it to "click" it has NO effect. Even in the initial start screen where it says "Push the joystick or center navigation key to test network connection", i push the joystick and it won't do anything. I have to click the (QW!) button where it says "ok" to do anything. when i select text boxes on websites to say, input a search topic or a username, password, it won't let me enter into the field unless i highlight the box and push a number key. Its really frustrating because i see what could be a really cool app. and it's being annoying as hell to me because either it was really poorly designed or i'm not using it right. Could this be a software error? Someone please help cause i don't want to keep using the blackberry browser anymore. Thanks

  2. #2
    HotCelica's Avatar
    HotCelica no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Meh
    Posts
    305
    Its just that the current version doesn't work with the trackball....I had the same problem...

    Download the new beta 3.0 version

    From your Pearl goto http://beta.mini.opera.com

    It will automatically replace the first version on your phone

    I just downloaded it not too long ago and it's amazing on the Pearl

  3. #3
    EvolutionCSR's Avatar
    EvolutionCSR no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,711
    Also you dont use the trackball on that version of opera you just hit the enter or return (bottom right hand key) for anything you would use the trackball for.

  4. #4
    timboritus's Avatar
    timboritus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~thanks for the reply. Another problem I have is actually getting an ota download link from the website. Every time I go to the link for the beta version, or any version from my BB I can never find the actual ota link for the download. The install wizard just keeps sending me in a circle and the suggested link beta.mini.opera.com is just a general page. Its very frustrating. I can only install the regular Version through desktop manager. Wtf?

  5. #5
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563
    Change your emulation under options, to openwave (WAP), and do a battery pull. Then go to beta.mini.opera.com...
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  6. #6
    mrnoname's Avatar
    mrnoname no está en línea Stacker
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,805
    And make sure you post in any feed back in the opera mini 3.0 thread. Also it is in beta, when the testing is over, this version will stop working.

  7. #7
    YMark's Avatar
    YMark no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by johnj41
    And make sure you post in any feed back in the opera mini 3.0 thread. Also it is in beta, when the testing is over, this version will stop working.
    Have they announced how long they plan to be in Beta? I'm liking this browser, I just wish you could make it the default. But that isn't an Opera issue.

  8. #8
    timboritus's Avatar
    timboritus no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14
    Changing the emulation to WAP Openwave worked perfectly!! Thanks alot!

  9. #9
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  10. #10
    DaBlackPearl's Avatar
    DaBlackPearl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4F2FD
    Posts
    290
    I can't seem to find where to change my emulation to openwave; where would that be? Thanks in advance.

  11. #11
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563
    Quote Originally Posted by DaBlackPearl
    I can't seem to find where to change my emulation to openwave; where would that be? Thanks in advance.
    Open your browser, and hit menu. Options>Browser Configuration>Emulation mode. Change to Openwave (wap)

    Don't forget the battery pull!
    Black G1 w/Root
    JesusFreke's Moddified RC30 v1.3
    Auto-rotate Enabled
    Auto-rotate Browser Enabled
    Manup's Blue Star 5 Theme

  12. #12
    DaBlackPearl's Avatar
    DaBlackPearl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4F2FD
    Posts
    290
    I did that, and I still got nothing; I have my wireless turned on, and I'm trying Opera Mini Beta 3.0, and I still get the same error message. Maybe I'm doing something else wrong. That should've done it, right?

  13. #13
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    You used beta.mini.opera.com??

  14. #14
    DaBlackPearl's Avatar
    DaBlackPearl no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4F2FD
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by I7oobie
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    You used beta.mini.opera.com??
    Yep, but I'm gonna give it another try; I really want to try another browser instead of the traditional BB browser.

    *edit*
    Okay; I just tried it again, and it still doesn't let me get online. I don't know what else to do.
    Last edited by DaBlackPearl; 11-22-2006 at 06:12 PM.

  15. #15
    ~BLACK ICE~'s Avatar
    ~BLACK ICE~ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e224ba
    Posts
    230
    the only problem i have is that... i can easily download the program, i just can not find a way to connect.

    if anybody knows the trick, post up so i can give it a try. thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •