Results 1 to 8 of 8

someone on here mentioned something about predictive txt'ing. I didn't know this was a feature ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345

    predictive text en/dis

    Advertisement



    someone on here mentioned something about predictive txt'ing.

    I didn't know this was a feature on the pearl. I am running .94, how do you enable it? or is it an added feature I need to install.

    thanks

    P

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    Actually I beleive you are looking for suretype. You can enable this by hitting the menu key in any compose screen and selecting enable suretype. Otherwise I dont know of any predictive text function.

    Hope this helps.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    yeah, I am using suretype.

    I guess someone confused suretype with predictive txt

  4. #4
    calm_tiger's Avatar
    calm_tiger no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,418

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    I remember reading a while back (sorry I don't have the reference) and I believe that suretype and predictive text are basically the same, except, RIM has a copyright on the term "suretype".

  5. #5
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    when I think of predictive typing I think of Motorola's t9 mode, it will autocomplete a word for you

    I wish BB had somethin like that

  6. #6
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    That's what suretype does. How is that different?

  7. #7
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    I think he means it will have an option on the drop down that has the complete word so all you have to do is select to put it in place. Suretype just remembers the word and you must continue to spell it out. For instance on T9 i could type red and there would be an option to select reddog187

  8. #8
    paulypaul's Avatar
    paulypaul no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    345

    Re: predictive text en/dis

    correct, an example with my RAZR T9 mode if I typed the word KNOWLEDGE.

    once I hit the keys. 5+6+6+9+4 to get "KNOWL" it will flash KNOWLEDGE in the screen because it knows that not many words are spelt with those 5 letters in a row. I just hit a single button or accept or cancel the extended word

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •