Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

This has never happend before and I really don't know why it's happening but I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    adelina's Avatar
    adelina no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Advertisement



    This has never happend before and I really don't know why it's happening but I just want it to stop! I use my pearl as my mp3 player when I go work out and today i'm happily listening to music when all of a sudden my music stops and it goes BEEEP "please say voice command" (or something like that). It kept doing that and i'd have to exit that and turn my music back on. After like 10 times I went into the settings and disabled everything that I could under the voice dialing option and it still kept happening. I changed the left side key to something else so I know it's not that i'm accidently hitting the key... I haven't had this problem before and i've been using my headset for about a week now...
    has my headset gone crazy? or my pearl? or me? Please help

  2. #2
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    try a batt pull should straighten it out. to ensure proper care of your pearl and to keep memory up you do a batt pull about once a week
    phone on batt out 30 sec then back in
    should do the trick
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  3. #3
    b_d0za's Avatar
    b_d0za no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    314

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    If your headset has a microphone with a button you can hold that button down for a second or two and it will activate the voice dialing. Maybe you are accidentally hitting that button?

  4. #4
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Yep the battery pull is the way to go.

  5. #5
    adelina's Avatar
    adelina no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Thats for your help. I tried a battery pull earlier and it still did it.. but i didn't wait 30 seconds. so I tried it again for 30 seconds and its still doing it. I checked the little button on it and I think that MIGHT be it... I just put my hand near the button and it activates it. I dont even have to push the button just kinda... put my finger near it or if i shake the headphones it turns on.. and this is just with the phone on the home screen not in the mp3 player.
    The weird thing is though.. when i'm in the mp3 player I just put the phone down, didn't touch anything. just sat back and looked at it and it kept activating and disactivating itself without me doing anything...
    I dont know what to do... break the button on the headphones???

  6. #6
    baseballkyle's Avatar
    baseballkyle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    222

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    are you using the TMo Italy OS?

  7. #7
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    no check, to make sure your headphones are seated all the way in, sometime if I don't push mine in all the way the pins will short and cause the voice dial lady to say hi.
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  8. #8
    adelina's Avatar
    adelina no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Quote Originally Posted by baseballkyle
    are you using the TMo Italy OS?
    Yes. i think.. its the .66 one.


    Quote Originally Posted by kayos72
    no check, to make sure your headphones are seated all the way in, sometime if I don't push mine in all the way the pins will short and cause the voice dial lady to say hi.
    I think I do... but I have mine in a case thing so maybe that's not allowing it to go in all the way? I'll take it out and try it and see if that does anything.

  9. #9
    adelina's Avatar
    adelina no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    No such luck. The headphones are plugged all the way in...
    Is there a way to deactivate voice dialing alltogether? I dont use it.

  10. #10
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    not that I have seen but hang around awhile and see if others have figured it out
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  11. #11
    baseballkyle's Avatar
    baseballkyle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    222

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Quote Originally Posted by adelina
    Yes. i think.. its the .66 one.
    i have had this exact same problem, but only when using the TMo Italy (.66) OS. i believe it to be unique to this particular OS...

  12. #12
    adelina's Avatar
    adelina no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Quote Originally Posted by baseballkyle
    i have had this exact same problem, but only when using the TMo Italy (.66) OS. i believe it to be unique to this particular OS...
    :'( ... i've been trying to find a solution for this all day...
    Do you think if i delete all the net_rim_vad files from my OS it will totally jack up my phone???
    Or should I just downgrade? Or maybe I should just back my stuff up and try deleting that file...

  13. #13
    shimey's Avatar
    shimey no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    34

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Assign the button to something else? mine's set to profiles.

  14. #14
    baseballkyle's Avatar
    baseballkyle no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    222

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Quote Originally Posted by shimey
    Assign the button to something else? mine's set to profiles.
    even after assigning it to other stuff i would still run into the issue. only happened on the TMo Italy OS though.

  15. #15
    adelina's Avatar
    adelina no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    74

    Re: Please Help! Want to break voice dialing in half

    Quote Originally Posted by shimey
    Assign the button to something else? mine's set to profiles.
    Mine is assigned to my media folder.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •