Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Someone please help me. I bought a 1gig mediacard about a month ago and everything ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    please help me media card corrupt???

    Advertisement



    Someone please help me. I bought a 1gig mediacard about a month ago and everything was fine up until two weeks ago, I tried adding songs through Windows Media Player and it showed on my BB Screen this message:

    "A Media Card has been inserted that contains errors. To Correct the errors, please use a disk error-checking utility on a computer".

    Can someone please help me how to fix this?? I dont know how to fix this what is this "disk error-checking utility" ? Please I dont know what to do do i buy a new mediacard now or can this be fixed?

  2. #2
    beja's Avatar
    beja no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    105

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Can you access the card through your PC, through a card reader without going through your BB?

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Hi mbal and welcome to pinstack....

    Does the card still work in your phone without errors? Are you connected via usb with mass storage enabled? If so can you try and simply copy the song to the card (not using Media Player)?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by beja View Post
    Can you access the card through your PC, through a card reader without going through your BB?
    I dont have a card reader? I dont think I can access it through my PC Right now I removed my media card and plug the cable that links my BB and my computer and it doesnt show that message "A media card has been insrted with error.... etc" But everytime I insert my mediacard it shows that message and my BB screen freezes until it resets itself!!

  5. #5
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Hi mbal and welcome to pinstack....

    Does the card still work in your phone without errors? Are you connected via usb with mass storage enabled? If so can you try and simply copy the song to the card (not using Media Player)?
    Hi no the card doesnt work in my phone at all. Ever since that error started happening Ive kinda been clueless how to fix it. I am connected via USB with mass storage enabled. How do I simply copy the song to the card without going through Media Player?
    Last edited by mbal86; 02-29-2008 at 05:27 PM. Reason: meant to type USB not ISB

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    If all is working correctly you can use the card like a removable drive and copy and paste songs. To do this you would have mass storage enabled and desktop manager installed to provide the needed drivers.

    It sounds like you no longer have access to your card (and any stored data). If you dont mind loosing whatever is on the card I would put it in the BB and format it to see if that corrects the problem.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by mbal86 View Post
    Hi no the card doesnt work in my phone at all. Ever since that error started happening Ive kinda been clueless how to fix it. I am connected via USB with mass storage enabled. How do I simply copy the song to the card without going through Media Player?
    Usually you'll get a new drive letter added to your machine in the "My Computer" icon. Check in there and you should see a new removable drive added.

    Most likely you'll have to format the card and start over.

  8. #8
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    If all is working correctly you can use the card like a removable drive and copy and paste songs. To do this you would have mass storage enabled and desktop manager installed to provide the needed drivers.

    It sounds like you no longer have access to your card (and any stored data). If you dont mind loosing whatever is on the card I would put it in the BB and format it to see if that corrects the problem.
    But I can't do that because I can't even access my Media Card from my BB. The way I used to access it is by going through options -> Media -> Explore -> Media Card. But ever since this problem ocurred I couldn't access it at all anymore. I don't mind losing my media card stuff, I just wana know if its completely garbage now and I just remain miserable and bitter and force myself to buy a new media card? How do I format it through BB?

  9. #9
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Try this (not conected to your desktop)

    Options
    Media Card
    Menu
    Format Card

    Post back and let us know if this works....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #10
    cfrench's Avatar
    cfrench no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    961

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    I had a 2 gig that did this. It never worked right after that.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Try this (not conected to your desktop)

    Options
    Media Card
    Menu
    Format Card

    Post back and let us know if this works....
    WOW thank you this one worked somewhat. I went Options -> Advanced Options -> media card -> format card. Now I have clicked the Format Card and I got all this free storage space as it showed in the BB screen. Now I go options -> advanced options -> media card and theres a message in the bottom:

    "THe media card is not available because mass storage mode is currently in use."

    So now I turn off mass storage? This is a big help because before, when my media card was in my BB and USB is connected, I get that corrupt message and it freezes and shuts itself off but now it doesnt do that. Where do i go now? and thank you for the quick replys!!

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Just a note that the media card is not accessible from the device while connected to your desktop with mass storage enabled....

    Now, with the card in your phone and mass storage enabled, you should be able to connect via usb to your desktop and copy music, photos, etc directly to the folders on the card, just like a removable drive.

    Good luck and let us know if you have more quesitons!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Just a note that the media card is not accessible from the device while connected to your desktop with mass storage enabled....

    Now, with the card in your phone and mass storage enabled, you should be able to connect via usb to your desktop and copy music, photos, etc directly to the folders on the card, just like a removable drive.

    Good luck and let us know if you have more quesitons!
    OMG all I had to do was to reformat it!! You guys are genius thank you so much especially you GaryF!!!

  14. #14
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Anytime and welcome to the family!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #15
    mbal86's Avatar
    mbal86 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7

    Re: please help me media card corrupt???

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    Anytime and welcome to the family!
    Ok now how do I put songs to it? The way I used to do it was to go to media player then sync, then start sync. Now when I do that it just aborts it not even halfway through. So how to add music now?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •