Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

I just did a quick search, and I may have been incorrect. It appears that ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    Advertisement



    I just did a quick search, and I may have been incorrect. It appears that different carriers may refer to the IMEI as an ESN. I think it has to do with whether or not they use GSM or CDMA technology.

    I am with AT&T and my IMEI is 15 digits long, if that helps at all.

    Which carrier are you with?

    You're welcome BTW. And welcome to the stacks, enjoy your stay.
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  2. #17
    alfairly's Avatar
    alfairly no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    i'm with t-mobile and mine is also 15 digits....so i tried to sign up for the bell email service and i was punching in my pin and the IMEI numbers but it gave me that message (which i don't know what it means or how to deal with it)...any suggestions on what i should do to "re-register"?

  3. #18
    alfairly's Avatar
    alfairly no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    the message said
    "This BlackBerry is registered with a different service provider. Please re-register this BlackBerry and verify the URL matches the one provided by your service provider." btw

  4. #19
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    Your service provider is T-Mobile? Is your device T-Mobile branded? Did you purchase the device from T-Mobile? Have you activated the device with them? (called and gave them your new IMEI #) Finally, have you added the BIS data plan to your service?
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  5. #20
    alfairly's Avatar
    alfairly no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    by branded do you mean its logo is on the phone, appears when i turn it on? then yes.

    i purchased it from costco i think from t-mobile...

    i have to give them my new IMEI? i don't remember changing it or anything...

    i don't have internet service...is it required in order to have the bell email thing?

    sorry i have so many questions, but thank you so much for your help!

  6. #21
    russcrypto's Avatar
    russcrypto no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    369

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    I know I had to call AT&T (then Cingular) and activate my new device by telling them my new IMEI, even though they sold it to me. The IMEI is unique for each phone/device out there. You didn't change it, but your Pearl's IMEI is not the same as whatever phone you had before.

    Yes a BB data plan is necessary to do pretty much anything with a BB. You'll find that there's not really a whole lot you can do without it, except for make and receive calls.

    Don't worry about all the Q's. We all had them at one point or another. I'm just trying to pass along all the stuff I learned when I first came to PinStack.
    Russcrypto

    Welcome to the Stacks!

    New to BlackBerry or Pinstack? Please Read:

    Forum Rules and Guidelines

    Click here to email me.

  7. #22
    tonyr38663's Avatar
    tonyr38663 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    20CF2EAF
    Posts
    95

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    You can send text messages without a data plan, and receive and send phone calls. Also you can't receive or send mms messages.

  8. #23
    alfairly's Avatar
    alfairly no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: pleas help....BIS

    okay well thanks for everything you've helped a lot

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •