Results 1 to 11 of 11

I've been a few threads on this, but I don't seem to find all the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    pearly8100's Avatar
    pearly8100 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    52

    Phone Wipe - How, When, Why, Results

    Advertisement



    I've been a few threads on this, but I don't seem to find all the answers. Anyway, this is what I have learned:

    HOW: Menu> Options> Security Options>General Settings
    Hit menu key
    Wipe Handheld

    When: To delete current phone settings (all of them?) , delete installed application settings and application-created files. However, installed applications remain (why?), handheld phonebook erased.
    Q: I would think a wipe would end in factory settings with EVERYTHING removed....

    Why: Reasons vary, but I had a problem getting my IM working again, and the wipe did it.
    Others?

    Results: Reboots and then restarts setup wizard. data files deleted. Not applications.


    Please feel to answer the questions and to add info!!!

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    I have to admit I am not sure I found the question in your post but FYI, the wipe you describe clears all user settings, clears data bases, removes accounts, etc. It does not remove applications. It is more of a "security wipe" - such as you would use if you were selling your device to another party.

    Not sure if this helps, but please post if you have additional questions.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    pearly8100's Avatar
    pearly8100 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    52
    sorry about that,

    the big question is: how do I do a wipe that would clear EVERYTHING, including applications, so it looks just like when it came out of the box?

  4. #4
    saukrateaz's Avatar
    saukrateaz no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    258
    Towipe EVERYTHING you can use a program called JL CMDR. Its the easiest way to wipe it and make it a great looking paper weight. Then you will need to reload the OS. There is a thread that walks through that, I will post it when I find it.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    icecold25's Avatar
    icecold25 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1
    What you are wanting to do specifically is called a low level wipe/format. It will completely remove all firmware from your phone.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    pearly,

    If you wish you can indeed use the 2 step process of a java wipe (which will remove all including your Operating System) and a O/S install. Both How To's can be found in my blog. However this procedure does runs more risk of issues during the processes, and I usually only recommend as a last resort, especially if you are relatively new at all this BB stuff . Here are 2 alternatives:

    1. In most cases you can remove applications with desktop manager or using the the phones application list and delete function for OTA installed apps. That combined with a Wipe Device should get you where you want to go. Is there a specific reason you want to remove app's or a special app you want to remove?


    2. Upgrading your operating system without running back up / restore will also do what you want (another How To in my blog ). Just make sure no 3rd party app's are checked to install in the application loader when you get to that screen.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    RemyKirin's Avatar
    RemyKirin no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    706
    Quote Originally Posted by icecold25 View Post
    What you are wanting to do specifically is called a low level wipe/format. It will completely remove all firmware from your phone.
    While it's impossible to perform an Low Level Format on most modern drives (since the mid-1990s) outside the factory, the term "low-level format" is still being used (erroneously) for what should be called the reinitialization of a hard drive to its factory configuration (and even these terms may be misunderstood). Reinitialization should include identifying (and sparing out if possible) any sectors which cannot be written to and read back from the drive, correctly. The term has, however, been used by some to refer to only a portion of that process, in which every sector of the drive is written to; usually by writing a zero byte to every addressable location on the disk; sometimes called zero-filling.

    As far as I know the Blackberry wipe does not do this, as far as I Know (and if anyone has any info to the contrary please inform me) the BB wipe does a multiple overwrite on the data you have on the BB. In other words its kind of like the D.o.D.'s secure wipe, which will write different user/factory defined characters over and over again for the purpose of making the data unrecoverable (in theory), which if you were to just "format" or even "Zero fill" you could get back with the right equipment/software. That's also kind of funny because the D.o.D. won't use this method on disposing classified systems or on systems with top secret information, for systems like that they do the complete physical destruction method ( in other words grinding it up into powder)

    even if you could do methods mentioned earlier, it's a little overkill if you are a civilian. My suggestion would be to use DM to delete all the 3rd party programs and then do the blackberry security wipe. That should prevent all your data from being carried over to the new user, unless he's a government spy or something, and even then it should be hard.


    Sorry I know I was lil long winded and partially on a tangent.
    ----
    "If you aren't remembered, then you never existed." – Arisu

    "I'm watching a dream I'll never wake up from.." - Spike Spiegel

  8. #8
    pearly8100's Avatar
    pearly8100 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    52
    Wow!! really great answers!
    I feel so lucky to have found this forum. I am a really newbie on blackberry-world. I plan to ask other stuff not relevant to this thread, but I can already tell I will learn a lot from here.

    Thanks to all guys!

    BTW, I think a two step process will be enough. Desktop Manager with phone wipe. It just seemed logical to me that a wipe would make the phone kind of "resetted" to factory settings, but since some apps remained after I did that I was confused what else might have not been removed.

    And, no, I don't think my massaging is of any national concern

  9. #9
    RemyKirin's Avatar
    RemyKirin no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    706
    Glad we could help, and welcome to the stacks.
    ----
    "If you aren't remembered, then you never existed." – Arisu

    "I'm watching a dream I'll never wake up from.." - Spike Spiegel

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Just as a general FYI / Blackberry trivia...there are actually 2 types of Device Wipes available to BB users. If you enable Content Protection prior to a wipe you actual get a "scrub", which not only wipes the data but overwrites it for a more secure cleansing.

    From RIM:
    "Erasing all data and applications from the BlackBerry device while Content Protection is turned on triggers scrubbing, which is the process of rewriting over memory to remove any residual unmapped data on the BlackBerry device. The scrubbing process could take up to several hours."

    Note the SEVERAL HOURS part, and also once begun this cannot be stopped.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    RemyKirin's Avatar
    RemyKirin no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    706
    Well there you go, I didn't know there was an option to not have the scrubbing, I guess cuz I always had content protection on.oh well you learn something new everyday.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •