Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

I just pulled my blackberry pearl out of the box today and powered it up ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Advertisement



    I just pulled my blackberry pearl out of the box today and powered it up (and subsequently charged it), and it won't display "GPRS" or "EDGE" under the network icon. Only GSM. Therefore it won't register my pin # on TMO's network, let me set up my e-mail, etc etc etc.

    I have tried using the "Wireless off" feature from Applications, soft booting via power key, hard booting by removing the battery with it on, I have tried it inside, outside, upstairs, and I know I have access to the GPRS data network.

    The T-mobile associate who sold me my phone forgot to enable the Blackberry service, so that got done this morning, and it's now been activated for about 4 hours and I was going to see if anybody has any suggestions for forcing data to connect, or something that effect?

    I also just checked Tmo's coverage Web site, and while I knew I had coverage, it should be in the 4-5 bar range all around my apartment ... which according to the rep I should have data service.

    Ideas?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Have you tried a battery pull since TMO activated the BB service?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Here's a thread from last week on the subject....

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...unlimited.html
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    I have tried a battery pull (twice, once right after the activation and the other just a few moments ago)

  5. #5
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Note, I haven't recieved any of the ... BIS service books (?) that have T-zones, "Set up the Internet", etc. as well. So I'm kind of in a quandry. There's a set up program for Enterprise e-mail ... and the voice works great lol. But no BB features!
    Last edited by TheAtwookie; 06-25-2007 at 04:14 PM.

  6. #6
    boomer79's Avatar
    boomer79 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23df2588
    Posts
    52

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Did you try to do a cold start?

  7. #7
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Define cold start, that's a new term for me.

  8. #8
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    I did a "Handset wipe", and still no effect. I assumed that's what you meant by cold start after doing a little research. I guess back to T-mobile on the phone I go.

  9. #9
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Just called T-mobile and Rep #2 told me to wait 48 hours and then call back if data services haven't activated. But I want them now!

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Did you see this earlier post?

    "Re: how long for BB unlimited?
    Well i got tired of waiting, i send in my service books both in my phone and through TMo website.
    Got on the phone with a rep and said that she was going to push all services to phone.
    Took battery out, and then put it back on and it was working!

    Thankz for all the help guys!"
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    I did. I can't get to the option to send my service books. Apparently since my BB has never connected to the data network, where Tmo wants me to enter my PIN/IMEI, it can't authenticate it because it's not an activated pin yet.

    The first rep I talked to told me I she could see my BB connected to the network, but that it was showing up as GSM only, and not GSM && GPRS/EDGE. I'm not sure they can push the services to my phone since it won't show up as connected for data.

    This is weirdness. I wish I knew how many people really experienced the 24-48 hour wait time. I did a little searching and it seems like almost everybody has experienced almost instantaneous connections upon activation of the BIS.

    Just not my lucky day, I guess.

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    Did you got to my-tmobile and try the "set up internet email" link?
    There is a link to "send serice books"
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    I did, and I can't access that portion of the Web site yet. It prompted me for my PIN # / IMEI for my phone, and then said it couldn't authenticate it. The 1st Tmo rep told me this is because the pin isn't registered on the network yet, because for whatever reason, it won't connect GPRS, only voice.

  14. #14
    psi chick's Avatar
    psi chick no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    465

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    sounds like a coverage problem rather than a phone/os one. if the phone won't connect with the correct service you won't have data. period. pushing it through isn't going to do anything if the service isn't there in the first place.

    try going to a different location where you can get edge and see what happens.

  15. #15
    TheAtwookie's Avatar
    TheAtwookie no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23feac94
    Posts
    33

    Re: Pearl won't connect to GPRS/EDGE

    I know for a fact my MDA had data service in my apartment (where I sit with my laptop), and Lubbock has very little EDGE coverage. I know I have GPRS though.

    I've also gone to a few places around town, and according to the Tmo coverage map I live in a 5 bar area.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •