Hello, I'm new to BB, just got the "Pearl" from T-Mo. I'm coming from a ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

tMax no está en línea Stack level 1
    PIN/ID
    23E2018A

Pearl/T-Mobile Zen Application Shortcuts, Fonts

Advertisement

Hello, I'm new to BB, just got the "Pearl" from T-Mo. I'm coming from a Symbian/S60 phone and, so far, I love the Pearl!
    A couple of things bug me though:
    - I like the T-Mo Zen theme, but launching any application that's not one of the top 5 is hair-raising! Even without 3rd party apps, the list is so long that I keep finding myself scrolling back and forth to find the app I'm looking for. Is there a way to assign shortcuts to launching apps? (On my Symbian phone I was able to switch between list and grid views for applications and I could put applications into folders.) Everything else seems to have been designed better, why not the launcher?
    - Who designed these fonts? They are ugly and they are hard to read. The "square" ones (BB Condensed, Millbank, -tall) are especially bad. Clarity is ok, but runs so wide that menu text often gets trunkated... Are there any 3rd party fonts out there??? Palm has managed to design fonts that are crisp and clean and easy on the eyes -why not RIM?
    - The Map applications seems to have a few bugs that need to be worked out. I installed "Google Maps" (which is free) and seems to work a lot better, even if it doesn't "talk" to the address book. The Map app has a hard time finding some addresses (maybe it's really finnikey about the formating?) and can't understand zip codes. Also, I haven't figured out how to look for businesses near a location...

Everything else, though, is impressive. A really well thought-out operating system in a very sleek package! Many of the bad things that people say about the BB I don't find to be true! In my opinion this phone beats any Symbian phone by a wide margin!