Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 227

I'm not an expert by an means, but with some of those error messages I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #46
    cklein6576's Avatar
    cklein6576 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    0

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Advertisement



    I'm not an expert by an means, but with some of those error messages I have found that a reboot of your PC very helpful. It seems that there are some processes that stop responding in the background that require a reboot. I have never tried a bluetooth connection, so I cannot sepak to that. I will say that I have used the internet from Rockford, IL to South Bend, IN and never dropped the connection. Even in rural areas and at speeds not approved by law enforcement.

    Good luck eveyrone!

  2. #47
    superkrai's Avatar
    superkrai no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    73

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Has anyone verified whether this uses data or minutes?

  3. #48
    DanielMv720's Avatar
    DanielMv720 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E7470F
    Posts
    17

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    I am connected but when I open internet explorer it says no connection what am I doing wrong?

  4. #49
    DoUhOllee's Avatar
    DoUhOllee no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    77

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    I'm not sure exactly what this means. Does this mean if I go somewhere without internet connection I can use my pearl to connect to the internet on my laptop?

  5. #50
    Hangman111's Avatar
    Hangman111 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F43F1D
    Posts
    1

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Hello - I am new here and new to the blackberry. I have the pearl and have been reading about using it as a modem. I tried to follow all the setups here. can't get it to work. has any one tried to do this on their laptop with windows vista home premium if please let me know how. I have T-mobile and data plan with edge. Thank you

  6. #51
    seedyburner's Avatar
    seedyburner no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    2438f59d
    Posts
    142

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    This is a speed test that I ran on a tethered modem. I hope this answers some questions.


  7. #52
    Longun's Avatar
    Longun no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    For those UK O2 pearl owners here are the settings you need. I've setup mine and it works fine

    Make sure you are using desktop manager 4.1 or above. You berry must be connected in order for this to work and so far I've only tested it on a cable but I'm sure it should work via bluetooth.

    * go to Control Panel, Printers and Other Hardware, Phone and Modem Options. Under the Modems tab, click on Standard Modem. Click Properties. Click Advanced. In the "extra initialization commands." enter: at+cgdcont=1,"ip","mobile.o2.co.uk" please type it as I have.

    * on the berry, go to Options, Advanced, TCP and enter "mobile.o2.co.uk" after APN: and use the username: mobileweb and password: password

    * go to Control Panel, Network Connections, Create a new connection, then hit Next

    *Select Connect to Internet

    * Select Set up connection manually

    *Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Check the box next to the modem you created above and then click Next.


    * Enter Anything as the ISP name

    * Enter *99# as the Phone Number and then click Next

    * You need to enter a username and password with o2 and they are

    username: mobileweb

    Password: password


    * To create the connection, click Finish.

    * right click on the dial-up connection under Network Connections, then click Properties. Below the PPP window click Settings and uncheck all boxes except "enable LCP Extensions."


    * make sure the blackberry is connected to Desktop Manager on the laptop.

    * Under Network Connections, right-click on the Dial-up connection for T-Mobile that we just created. Click Connect. Click Dial.

    If everything works, you should be connected to the Internet.
    Any problems then feel free to drop me a PM also might be worth checking with O2 that they won't charge for the extra data but this depends on your phone plan. Also if its a work berry then it is possible that the IT policy applied to the berry may block this type of connection. Hope this helps
    Last edited by Longun; 04-04-2007 at 06:10 PM.

  8. #53
    StatikBB's Avatar
    StatikBB no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    79

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    I am so excited that I can now get internet on my laptop anywhere I have a T-Mobile sgnal. Just a little bit of info: With about 1/2 signal strength I ran a speed test on my local DSL providers website and the results were amazing! The speed that their DSL showed for their basic package was 384kbps (SDSL). My BlackBerry ran 202kbps! Thanks for all the help with this setup guys. Not only is this helping me out it is also beneficial to my customers since I now can walk them through the entire process rather than sending them to customer care.
    -Statik-
    T-Mobile RSR
    8100 Pearl

  9. #54
    borat's Avatar
    borat no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Here are some more tips and experiences that have worked for me using Windows XP. PLEASE comment:

    - First you always have to remember to have RIM Desktop Manager loaded in Windows and showing "Connected" before you do anything related to getting the Pearl online. This includes checking the modem diagnostic in the Windows modem driver. As long as you get some AT commands back from the BB, the driver is installed.

    - Use only the Standard 33.6 Modem driver. The 56K modem driver will not work according to what a T-Mob wireless data specialist told me. Don't worry, you aren't going to connect at 33600, it will be faster.

    - As previous poster poined out, it is essential to install the Windows modem driver on one of the COM ports occupied by Pearl. Too bad this is not in any of the Tmob documentation. I would have 1 day more of life. Check your Device Manager in Windws for the RIM Virtual Serial Ports. Mine are COM4 and COM5 and I installed the Standard 33.6 Modem driver on COM4.

    - Max Port speed 115200 on modem driver and the Dial-Up connection. This works fine and is much faster than EDGE can fully utilize anyway. You can name the dialer connection whatever you want. This isn't the OTA speed, but the internal connection speed used between modem and the lapop.

    - I've been regularly using hardware flow control even tho some TMO instructions say "none". Note there is a setting for this in the modem driver and also buried deep in the dialer.

    - Make sure under the Networking tab in your dialer that TCP/IP Connection > Properties button > Advanced button > "Use Default Gateway on Remote Network" is checked. This is required. However I've been able to connect with IP Header connection checked and also unchecked.

    - Password and user name on dialer screen should be blank. In the Pearl the Advanced > TCP/IP setting should be APN=wap.voicestream.com (no quotes) and Password and user name on dialer screen should also be blank. Some of the instructions floating around say to enter your Tmobile.com Uid/PW in the dialer screen but I've never found this to be necessary.

    - If you get stuck in "Dialer..." phase of logon and can't get past that, try cold booting the Pearl. Remove battery, wait briefly and replace. I have had this problem when disconnecting such as when online during Pearl auto-shutoff. I think the port gets left open or some crap stuck in there. It may also be helpful to remove the modem driver restart PC and reinstall. Does anyone have any better resolution to being snagged up in the "Dialer..." phase?

    - If you get Error 736 TCP IP Control Protocol. There may be interference between a voice call and the Internet connection. You cannot use both simultaneously. However unlike analog modems you don't have to disconnect from Internet to make a voice call! Your phone seems to take priority. It will let u resume Internet activity as soon as hanging up.t

    - If you get error 734 PPP this is a common error that even the front line Blackberry reps are familiar with. I was suggested to do these two things, and the first one worked.
    1) try changing the "IP" in the extra initialixation string to "ip" (ie lowercase ip in quotes ) or vice versa. Note than in XP you cannot modify the extra initialization string and have your changes "stick" unless you uninstall the modem driver, reboot PC and reinstall the modem driver with the corrected initialization string. Tmob told me that in Vista you need to use the lowercase ip. Another tip is to make sure the string is only using double quotes and commas. No apostrophe's, periods or spaces. Amazingly, this little change of case was preventing me from connecting.
    2) Try dialing *99***1# instead of *99#. This could also be added as an alternate dialup number.

    - Make sure your dialer doesn't add anything to the dialing pattern such as dial 1+ or an area code.

    -Here are four slightly different versions of the initialization string that are reported to work. But most likely, only one of them will work for YOU!

    +cgdcont=1,IP,"wap.voicestream.com" (most common in the docs. worked for me but then stopped)
    +cgdcont=1,ip,"wap.voicestream.com" (worked when above failed)
    at+cgdcont=1,IP,"wap.voicestream.com" (I have not tried with the AT but works in some BB settings, not sure about Pearl in particular)
    +cgdcont=1,,"wap.voicestream.com" (IP removed, reported working in this Pinstack forum)
    The latter three of these are a bit more unusual. What are your experiences with them?

    - The number of possible settings can seem overwhelming. But most of the default settings on the modem driver will work as installed. You just have to add the modem initiatization string such as +cgdcont=1,IP,"wap.voicestream.com". Also make sure software compression and software flow control are always OFF.

    - On BB Advnced TCP/IP check to see you are indeed set to APN=wap.voicestream.com
    I had this entry disappear on me once and had to re-enter.

    - With 4 bars EDGE I connect at 70-160K, usually about 110K. That's about 2-3x dialup speed. The wireless data specialist told me that customers connect at 200-800K but that is closer to Broadband speed. I have yet to see those speeds on the EDGE network.

    Please ADD your experiences. There is a tough oyster shell to break through to get to the beauty of the Pearl. A well-tethered Pearl makes a very happy owner. Once you get it..
    "Very Nice"

    -borat
    (posted via tethered Pearl)
    Last edited by borat; 04-08-2007 at 07:36 PM.

  10. #55
    DoUhOllee's Avatar
    DoUhOllee no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    77

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Quote Originally Posted by DoUhOllee
    I'm not sure exactly what this means. Does this mean if I go somewhere without internet connection I can use my pearl to connect to the internet on my laptop?
    still need the answer..

  11. #56
    christophrxx's Avatar
    christophrxx no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    awaiting
    Posts
    20

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Quote Originally Posted by DoUhOllee
    still need the answer..

    yea thats what it means

    now, i am having a lot of problems getting this to work on my ibook G4, through cable, i tried last night, and it wouldnt even connect, is there a step by step maybe?

  12. #57
    schmunger's Avatar
    schmunger no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    317d7c77
    Posts
    197

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~gotta love you guys. Got this to work on first attempt = ). I'm actually thinking about cancelling my dsl. The speed is good enough my internet needs. With the extra money I can save, I might donate for all those free ringtones and themes I have downloaded!

  13. #58
    nrcapes's Avatar
    nrcapes no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23E6997B
    Posts
    114

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Davidrewind
    I followed the instructions but still could not connect my pearl as a laptop modem. Q: the user name and password requested to connect; is this my t-mobile info or should it be left blank?
    anyone?
    the user name and password have to be blank. See original post, and don't forget the additional instructions if you're using TMO.

  14. #59
    hydroxicacid's Avatar
    hydroxicacid no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23ea239e
    Posts
    13

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    I keep getting "Error 734: The PPP link control protocol was terminated." Any suggestions?

  15. #60
    thestewside's Avatar
    thestewside no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    256C11B1
    Posts
    178

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Does the tehtered modem only work for laptops or can you use it on desktops as well???
    Thanx

Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •