Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 227

I am still of the mindset that it's an OS issue. After everything is said ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    mysmyrrh's Avatar
    mysmyrrh no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e4456e
    Posts
    415

    Advertisement



    I am still of the mindset that it's an OS issue. After everything is said and done, it always goes back to the OS. And I have deleted and reinstalled the desktop manager everytime to see if that fixes it. No luck. There has to be something missing from the drivers. Some line of code that tells the computer to keep the connection open until the user terminates it. Anyone know how to read code? Lol. Maybe some computer geekster can come up with a solution.

  2. #17
    iMacj's Avatar
    iMacj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3070F784
    Posts
    70

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    I was wondering the same thing myself, mysmyrrh but I think it may be the provider somewhat involved here. Otherwise, we could forget and leave it signed on for hours. Therefore I am looking for something that tells the O/S, times-up! And I think your right that would be in the code.

  3. #18
    lux's Avatar
    lux
    lux no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    62

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    WORTH NOTING:
    If your phone tries to use your tcp settings while you are connected to your laptop with tethering, you will lose your laptop connection...

    For example, the Opera web browser uses your tcp settings to connect instead of the wap settings that the BB browser uses... if you trying browsing to a webpage in Opera on your BlackBerry, it will terminate the laptop data connection, and you will have to disconnect and reconnect....

    I experienced this recently with JiveTalk, which uses TCP to connect, and will terminate the tethered connection after a few minutes.

  4. #19
    jenga1083's Avatar
    jenga1083 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    43

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    i keep getting a "hardware failure" error or a "connection port" error. I followed the steps exactly. Is there something I'm missing like a special cord that goes from dail-up port to your phone??

    Please Help

  5. #20
    scampbell185's Avatar
    scampbell185 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    24210A68
    Posts
    38

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Jenga:
    You can pin me if you like I set this up for customers all of the time. My pin is 23EDEAE2.

  6. #21
    liam.davey's Avatar
    liam.davey no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    11

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    great thanks for this!

  7. #22
    jenga1083's Avatar
    jenga1083 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    43

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Nevermind, I figured it out. Thanks though.

    MAKE SURE YOU enable your com port option on your desktop manager. I was looking around my desktop manager and saw that the bluetooth/usb was enabled and ready, but my Com port was disabled. Enable it so it be ready to be used. If you do it correctly, the status on the Com port will display "disconnected"

  8. #23
    absoluteevel's Avatar
    absoluteevel no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    241C4261
    Posts
    27

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    I am about to go on a trip with a LOT of roaming. I think I will be primarily roaming on Dobson/Cell One in the Navajo reservation area of the 4 corners. Do I need to change the APN in the modem init string?

  9. #24
    iMacj's Avatar
    iMacj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3070F784
    Posts
    70

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Thank you Lux!
    Perhaps that is the reason I am always disconnecting.

  10. #25
    avelazquez1's Avatar
    avelazquez1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    204CC444
    Posts
    11

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Quote Originally Posted by nrcapes
    I had my Pearl working as a tethered modem from my laptop for a few days using instructions I found in another thread, then it stopped working. I called T-Mobile and they got it working again. Here's how:
    Re: 8100 stopped working as tethered modem with TMO


    Got to a bb rep right away. He fixed the problem as follows:


    * go to Control Panel, Printers and Other Hardware, Phone and Modem Options. Under the Modems tab, click on Standard Modem. Click Properties. Click Advanced. Make sure nothing is entered in the "extra initialization commands."

    * on the berry, go to Options, Advanced, TCP and enter "wap.voicestream.com" after APN:

    * go to Control Panel, Network Connections, Create a new connection, then hit Next

    *Select Connect to Internet

    * Select Set up connection manually

    *Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Check the box next to the modem you created above and then click Next.


    * Enter T-Mobile as the ISP name

    * Enter *99# as the Phone Number and then click Next

    * Keep User Name and Password blank. Clear all the other check boxes.

    * To create the connection, click Finish.

    * right click on the dial-up connection under Network Connections, then click Properties. Below the PPP window click Settings and uncheck all boxes except "enable LCP Extensions."


    * make sure the blackberry is connected to Desktop Manager on the laptop.

    * Under Network Connections, right-click on the Dial-up connection for T-Mobile that we just created. Click Connect. Click Dial.

    If everything works, you should be connected to the Internet.
    If you still are not able to connect, try changing the dial-up phone number to *99***1# ; go back into your berry and leave the TCP field blank.
    After that you will need to go back to you control panel, phones and modems, click the modems tab, highlight the standard modem, click on properties, click on advanced tab, and enter at+cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com" on the extra initializations commands.
    This is for Tmobile customers only.

  11. #26
    iMacj's Avatar
    iMacj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3070F784
    Posts
    70

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    For some reason this week I was able to connect and hold the connection for the longest time ever. Approximately 25 minutes. I even had emails come in to the BB while I was surfing with the PEARL tethered. Then a call came in and a few seconds in dropped the connection to the modem. I NEVER would have expected either to take place while I was using the BB as a modem. After that, I tried it again and was online for about 35 minutes. Go figure. I have not changed anything in the set up for weeks now.
    However, I was in the RDU airport and instead of T-Mobile my BB read Cingular. I know NC is one place that T-Mobile is not present or at least where I go they aren't. Usually in that area I am on SunCom but at the airport it always switches to Cingular.

    I have never been able to remain connected for longer than 1 - 3 minutes using the BB as a modem. While roaming on another network it worked better than ever. Downloading files was very slow but web pages were satisfactory considering the hardware and BlueTooth connection. Still beats the heck out of paying $7.00/hr for a short connection to do a few things.

    A few weeks prior to this trip, same setup, same airport, practically the same area of the airport, I could not connect the modem no matter how many times I tried. It all just seems very unreliable. Hit or miss.

  12. #27
    ddriscoll13's Avatar
    ddriscoll13 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    good information

  13. #28
    slimm's Avatar
    slimm no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    0

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Quote Originally Posted by srice13
    Also you DO need extra initialization commands. enter in
    +cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com" without this you'll constantly get errors when trying to connect your modem.



    disclamer: my views and opinions do not represent T-mobile USA nor it's parent company and affiliates.
    This is what got me connected. Thank you very much

  14. #29
    iMacj's Avatar
    iMacj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3070F784
    Posts
    70

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    Well, here is an update on my latest experience with the tethered modem. After my most recent post, 3 up from here. I was in NYC this week and without changing anything since my recent success in Durham, NC, I could not hold s connection for more than 2 minutes again. I tried relentlessly. I had max signal and the Pearl read EDGE, so everything looked like max performance, network speaking.

    I am beginning to think since I finally had success for extrended periods of time elsewhere it is more network related than anything else now.
    Chicago tonight will try it here too.
    Last edited by iMacj; 03-15-2007 at 12:14 AM.

  15. #30
    iMacj's Avatar
    iMacj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    3070F784
    Posts
    70

    Re: Pearl, T-mobile, tethered modem

    All:

    There you have it. Works in Chicago too. Holding connection for 40 minutes. On My iBook I have made the internal modem connection completely inactive.
    System Preferences, click Network, click show network port configurations, uncheck internal modem, Apply now.

    The internal modem on the iBook as well as the choices does not include anything less than 56k speed, just v.32 v.34. v.90 and v.92. I did not add the extra initialization command either but that's just on an iBook. other members have reported that as being very helpful.

    Also, I was able to connect to AOL on the laptop using TCP/IP connection without interruption.

    I never receive an errors just 'disconnecting' and no reason as to why. It seems to have different performance as I move around the country.
    Perhaps I am just mis-understanding how this really works.

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •