Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

My girl's 8100 started this ruckus last night. When she went to bed, she plugged ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72

    Arrow Pearl stuck in boot cycle

    Advertisement



    My girl's 8100 started this ruckus last night. When she went to bed, she plugged her BB into the wall charger for the night, and the phone suddenly rebooted. Ever since then, it has been stuck in a cycle where it boots into a white screen with an hour glass for 3 to 5 seconds and then turns off, only to start the same thing over again every time.

    I did indeed try the method mentioned in the crackberry URL located at the bottom of this message, but with no luck. And yes, I followed instructions down to the exact detail.

    My next guess is that her BB has killed over...for good. Anyone who believes otherwise, please enlighten me with your rescue options!

    Last edited by azstar; 12-11-2008 at 12:40 PM. Reason: link edit

  2. #2
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    ok...
    I JUST went through all of this do you have backups?
    I'm going to send the link to the thread I was dealing with last night as a matter of fact



    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...e_posts-96403/
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  3. #3
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    Yes, I have backups, an array of recent OSes, DM, and the usual whole 9 yards. Checking your link now...

  4. #4
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    After using JL_Cmder, and following the instructions to reload the OS via this link:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...onnected-5178/

    once I get to the App Loader part and follow all procedures, I am at this point:

    I successfully pass through the following procedures:
    Erasing Applications
    Loading System Software
    Waiting for device initialization

    Then the device turns on and then it tries to reconnect to JVM, however the device is still stuck in the same aforementioned reboot cycling loop.

    After failing the process of 'Reconnecting to JVM', the Application Loader Wizard gives me the following message:

    "Unable to complete the loading operation
    Unable to reconnect to the device during a multi-stage load operation."


    Anyone have any clues? I have tried the same process a good 10 to 15 times, with the same error message every time.

  5. #5
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Try checking this thread post #10 if it doesnt help there are a few others.
    Last edited by moderncowboy; 12-11-2008 at 01:58 PM.

  6. #6
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    Thanks cowboy...am attempting to undergo your solution now. Somebody give me some nerve calming medication... :P

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    typo

    My experience leads me to believe the unable to connect error is often caused by power issues.

    Are you using a laptop? If so make sure your power save settings for USB ports are off. Also do not use a docking station for the operation.

    Are you using a USB hub? If so plug directly to your PC.

    You might also read this thread by jeffallen:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...eration-94791/
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Thanks Gary I was actually looking for that one since I didn't have it bookmarked.

  9. #9
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    I am on my desktop, probably not that it matters, however I am running on a P4 2.8ghz, 2GB ram. I do have several USB hubs, but said USB cable for the BB is directly plugged into my USB 2.0 card, not any of the hubs.

    And FYI, her 8100 had OS 4.5.0.55 (81), which I installed a few months back (mine has the same 4.5 OS as well but I have not encountered any problems to date, knock on wood!). Am currently in the process of downloading the official current OS from Tmobile, which is our carrier, and will undergo the entire process of uninstalling and reinstalling over again. I'm praying this works!

    Thank you to all for you much appreciated help! Will continue to update accordingly...

  10. #10
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    Hey man, I hope garyf and modern can help you out with this. They were a HUGE help for me.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    Thanks Lucifer...I'm still holding my breath on it working the millionth time around...wife says I'm turning blue...haha

  12. #12
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    Well, I'm stuck @ square one still. I have tried (seemingly in vain) every idea I could conceive and method mentioned (thank you to everyone who has helped so far!), with no luck. I'm still getting the 'multi-stage load operation' error message. I have updated DM, used official OSes, bootleg OSes, and only God knows what else, to no avail.

    I've half a mind to give the wife's BB a swift boot that will launch the darn thing into outer space orbit. Maybe it will float around out there as space junk until the next millennium...

    Anyone have any other brilliant ideas?
    ______________________________________
    "Whatever it is, we're against it." -Groucho Marx

  13. #13
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    typo,

    Last time I had that as a persistent error I tried a different machine and the install sailed through.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #14
    typeoholic's Avatar
    typeoholic no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    23eb5198
    Posts
    72
    Well, I suppose I shall have to dig up some parts from my computer graveyard and build a new PC just for this purpose. Thanks pal!!
    ______________________________________
    "Whatever it is, we're against it." -Groucho Marx

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Acutally in my case I used a newer PC....

    You may also want to try this, the BB Update engine. Connect your device, and hit this link (need to be in IE) and see what happens....

    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/update/
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •