Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

I just recently got a pearl from Rogers and as I was setting it up ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Pearl Help

    Advertisement



    I just recently got a pearl from Rogers and as I was setting it up it asked for a password, so i typed one in thinking it was only for security purposes or its only gonna ask me everytime i turn on the phone..

    but i guess not, now everytime i leave it on the table for 5 minutes and the light shuts off, the phone locks and i have to keep putting my password in again .. so i went to general settings and to security to see that my password was enabled, so i went over it with the trackball to try and disable it and it wont work .. theres a little red lock beside it and i cant move it from enabled

    its getting really annoying putting in the password over and over again

    any help would be greatly appreciated!

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    375

    Re: Pearl Help

    it would let you change it to disable. all i can say right now if do a battery pull.
    When the phone is on. Take the battery out for like 20-30 seconds. And put it back it.

    Just wondering? Did you get an application called Autolock?

  3. #3
    snoweey's Avatar
    snoweey no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    23f389df
    Posts
    152

    Re: Pearl Help

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~the other possibility is that it was once hooked up to a BES that required that the bb be locked the only thing you can do if that's the case is reload the os(sorry don't know where to get it for rogers) or bring it back to rogers and have them exchabge it if they will do it. Personally I'd reload the os chances are nothing is wrong with the hardware.

  4. #4
    thestewside's Avatar
    thestewside no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    256C11B1
    Posts
    178

    Re: Pearl Help

    I had a similar issue.
    If you re-install desktop software and the updated version of OS, then hook up your pearl to dektop manager and start the aplication manager. It will have the new update and bring your phone up to speed. it reset my phone to were that issue was no more.
    hope this helps

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    375

    Re: Pearl Help

    Wt OS do you have? To check what os you have do this> Options > About > third line it should say "v4......."

    You can find your os here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...are_links.html

  6. #6
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Pearl Help

    it says i got v4.2.0.51

  7. #7
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Pearl Help

    how would i go about and do this exactly?
    Quote Originally Posted by thestewside
    I had a similar issue.
    If you re-install desktop software and the updated version of OS, then hook up your pearl to dektop manager and start the aplication manager. It will have the new update and bring your phone up to speed. it reset my phone to were that issue was no more.
    hope this helps

  8. #8
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Pearl Help

    Quote Originally Posted by maki
    how would i go about and do this exactly?
    follow this thread http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...rade_your.html

  9. #9
    thestewside's Avatar
    thestewside no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    256C11B1
    Posts
    178

    Re: Pearl Help

    Ok-Maki this is what I did
    You need to uninstall desktop manager. Then---
    go to - blackberry.com
    click on bb for life-on the top right, click the software tab
    Then on the left click bb desktop software.
    It will then show the new desktop manager and software updates.
    Download the new desktop manager and then the software updates.
    Once you have downloaded all that, plug in your pearl.
    Go to app loader and check al lthe boxes that you want. It will auto populate the software update.
    Let me know if you need any more help
    Last edited by thestewside; 08-31-2007 at 05:05 PM.

  10. #10
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Pearl Help

    that just screwed up my pearl .. now it has literally no set up, its in black and white and it looks like crap .. now i gotta try to put back the old desktop manager that came with the phone and hope to god it changes the hardware to how it was before
    Quote Originally Posted by thestewside
    Ok-Maki this is what I did
    You need to uninstall desktop manager. Then---
    go to - blackberry.com
    click on bb for life-on the top right, click the software tab
    Then on the left click bb desktop software.
    It will then show the new desktop manager and software updates.
    Download the new desktop manager and then the software updates.
    Once you have downloaded all that, plug in your pearl.
    Go to app loader and check al lthe boxes that you want. It will auto populate the software update.
    Let me know if you need any more help

  11. #11
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Pearl Help

    and it still asks me to put in a password
    Quote Originally Posted by maki
    that just screwed up my pearl .. now it has literally no set up, its in black and white and it looks like crap .. now i gotta try to put back the old desktop manager that came with the phone and hope to god it changes the hardware to how it was before

  12. #12
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Pearl Help

    oh thats just great..
    it stayed the same, now its screwed up real nice

  13. #13
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Pearl Help

    If you're on BES that lock is apart of your IT policy...you can't remove it. Unless you talk to your IT department.

    There are a couple of threads out there to remove an IT policy.

    Anyways where are you now with your pearl...

  14. #14
    schmunger's Avatar
    schmunger no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    317d7c77
    Posts
    197

    Re: Pearl Help

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ go to options, security options, general settings, and check to see if you have content protection disabled. If its enabled, disable it and that should fix the issue.

  15. #15
    maki's Avatar
    maki no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Pearl Help

    i fixed it .. but as i fixed it, it whiped out everything i had like my contacts, and im not sure if it was saved to the sim or not because i dont remember seeing a direct option "save to sim" .. is there anyway i can retrieve it back?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •