Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Hey this is my first post and I have a small question.If i have unlimited ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    tcoopii's Avatar
    tcoopii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    12

    Pearl as modem ???MORE FEES?

    Advertisement



    Hey this is my first post and I have a small question.If i have unlimited data for my BBPearl and I use it as a modem for my laptop do i get charged extra or is that data beeing used from my unlimited data plan..ALSO what are the speeds of the BBpearl using a laptop

  2. #2
    sn1p3r's Avatar
    sn1p3r no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    2,305
    For the speeds I can't help but some provider charge for BB as a modem even with the unlimited data plan
    I'm french canadian so I can also help you in french, just PM me
    UNLESS it is for a BETA OS, it's at your own risk and I won't support it
    Sn1p3r

  3. #3
    tcoopii's Avatar
    tcoopii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    12
    well does T-MOBILE CHARGE EXTRA?

  4. #4
    XLiMBS's Avatar
    XLiMBS no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    20F3D846
    Posts
    767
    No, T-Mobile (at least in the US) doesn't charge extra for using your BB as a modem.

  5. #5
    tcoopii's Avatar
    tcoopii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    12
    you guys are such a great help...what about the speeds?what are the speeds like 56k?

  6. #6
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I think I only got 15.5 kbps...

  7. #7
    edm9644's Avatar
    edm9644 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E00A15
    Posts
    17
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i get around 115 kbps

  8. #8
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371
    just hooked it up for the hell of it...http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...1&d=1163716420

    115.2kbps.

    I guess it beats dial-up when cruising for the porn.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    tcoopii's Avatar
    tcoopii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    12

    sweet

    i hope it works on my WINDOWS VISTA

  10. #10
    Szadzik's Avatar
    Szadzik no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E23EA8
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by tcoopii
    you guys are such a great help...what about the speeds?what are the speeds like 56k?
    If you have EDGE coverage it should be up to 236kbps (about 30KBps). If you have only GPRS conerage it would be like 56kbps (7KBps)
    Phone Tales:
    OT MaxDB, CD1, CD5, J5, GD96, ME45, T68i, X6, CX65, A925, E398, MPx200, X6-2, OT715, D600E, W810, M600i BB Pear + Axim x51v

  11. #11
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Check out this thread to get an idea of speeds:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...nload+speed%22

  12. #12
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    BTW, the tests ran in the thread listed above were directly from the device itself.

    Now, keep in mind also, that the download speeds you experience on your computer may be limited also by the speed of your USB port, and not necessarily the phone itself.

  13. #13
    tcoopii's Avatar
    tcoopii no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    12
    just wanted to give kudos for this is the first forum i have used where the people actually help you

  14. #14
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371
    during my littel test above at 115.2kbps, the phone indicated EDGE. I haven't seen it any higher than that.

    I am on a trip to San Antonio next week so I'll try it again there, maybe a change of venue will give me better data rates.

  15. #15
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028
    Are you sure that your USB port isn't limited to that?

    Try and go to whatever site that was, pc whatever, with just your browser (Make sure you have java script on) and see if it gives the same result.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •