Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

What are the differences and which one will cingular sell and when???... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    COJO 24's Avatar
    COJO 24 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E89BE8
    Posts
    724

    Pearl 8130 8120

    Advertisement



    What are the differences and which one will cingular sell and when???

  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Here are the specs for the 8100, 8120, and the 8130. There is also an 8110 but cannot find that on BlackBerry.com

    As for AT&T, not sure since they haven't announced it yet, but people are rumoring it will be the 8120. Will not be the 8130 since that is CDMA (Verizon, Sprint etc).

  3. #3
    mac14x's Avatar
    mac14x no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    217a1629
    Posts
    731

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    I heard that 8120 has wifi and 8130 has GPS, or the other way around.

  4. #4
    mjacobi's Avatar
    mjacobi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by mac14x View Post
    I heard that 8120 has wifi and 8130 has GPS, or the other way around.
    here's a trick that i'm sure some of you have figured out with the current bbery lineup when it comes to wifi or gps

    xx20- wifi enabled
    xx10- GPS enabled
    xx30- CDMA

  5. #5
    iron07's Avatar
    iron07 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    22bf2ae1
    Posts
    609

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    why dont they just put wifi and gps in one. now that would be sweet

  6. #6
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by iron07 View Post
    why dont they just put wifi and gps in one. now that would be sweet
    not enough room to fit both

  7. #7
    lauren25's Avatar
    lauren25 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,107

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Wouldn't it make sense to just buy the 8120 and download a GPS app?
    ~Lauren

  8. #8
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by lauren25 View Post
    Wouldn't it make sense to just buy the 8120 and download a GPS app?
    it would, if only it was that easy. to use gps, you must have gps hardware pn your phone.

    you could go buy a gps puck and have both wifi and gps

  9. #9
    lauren25's Avatar
    lauren25 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,107

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    ah, alright thanks glehman
    ~Lauren

  10. #10
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    no problem

  11. #11
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by mjacobi View Post
    here's a trick that i'm sure some of you have figured out with the current bbery lineup when it comes to wifi or gps

    xx20- wifi enabled
    xx10- GPS enabled
    xx30- CDMA
    Yes and the 8130 has GPS as well.
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

  12. #12
    coldconfessi's Avatar
    coldconfessi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24046800
    Posts
    124

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    more than likely 8120 I played with a 8120 with AT&T os it was a test model.

  13. #13
    mjacobi's Avatar
    mjacobi no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by alwaysbelieve1 View Post
    Yes and the 8130 has GPS as well.
    true. good catch. although i believe the vzw 8130 gps is crippled and only allows vznavigator, while sprint's works on bb maps, google maps, and sprint navigation(telenav)

  14. #14
    alwaysbelieve1's Avatar
    alwaysbelieve1 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    835

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by mjacobi View Post
    true. good catch. although i believe the vzw 8130 gps is crippled and only allows vznavigator, while sprint's works on bb maps, google maps, and sprint navigation(telenav)
    I believe you're right. I wish there was a way I could "uncripple" it. Anyone know how?
    Bob Garon II, Kettlebell Coach

    Fitness Has Nothing To Do With Looking Good.
    BobGaronTraining.com

    Follow Me At:
    Twitter
    Facebook

  15. #15
    schlice's Avatar
    schlice no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    211C2A7D
    Posts
    12

    Re: Pearl 8130 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by alwaysbelieve1 View Post
    I believe you're right. I wish there was a way I could "uncripple" it. Anyone know how?
    Technically, there's no way to "uncripple" it because it's not technically "crippled." It's "pseudo-GPS."

    Here's how it works.

    With traditional SiRF Star III GPS receivers and their ilk, they have upwards of 24 channels of receive capability. They recieve all of that pseudocode on all 20-plus channels simultaneously, and then have to crunch the numbers to determine a fixed location on the Earth. However, while that many channels will produce very accurate results, you really only need three satellites to give you a 2-D fix, and four satellites to give you a 3-D fix. So what they do instead is use the "GPS" chip in the phone to listen to a few satellites (sorry, I'm not exactly sure how many - it technically can't be any fewer than three) and transmit that pseudocode (and associated ephemeris data) to the nearest tower, which does the heavy lifting crunching the numbers. The tower knows your location within its own cells, and using that along with the transmitted pseudocode, it can approximate your position. It then returns your position to the phone, which uses it along with the VZ Navigator application to show your position on a map. It's a proprietary format used for the location data---not traditional NMEA 0183 format, the standard format for raw GPS data---which is why it can't be used for apps that look for that data, such as GMaps.

    To their credit, Verizon chose this path so they could distribute the "GPS" capability to as many handhelds as possible without increasing size, power consumption, or most importantly, price. It does lock you into VZ Navigator as your source for "GPS" capability, but in almost all handsets, this capability is available.

    Sprint's GPS-enabled phones use true GPS co-processors and procude full NMEA 0183 formatted data streams, which is why they work with third-party apps utilizing GPS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •