Results 1 to 8 of 8

I just got my pearl in this week and im brand new to this type ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    zsjordan's Avatar
    zsjordan no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Question p8100 is busted or im retarded

    Advertisement



    I just got my pearl in this week and im brand new to this type of phone so im a little lost.

    1. i need the phone to constantly vibrate while ringing (i'm partially deaf it feels like). I went to edit the active profile and went to phone and changed 'out of holster' to vibrate+ring. It still doesnt vibrate. I know the phone itself is capable because when i go to the vibrate option it vibrates, the ring option - it rings, the vibrate+ring option - nothing.

    2. Does anyone know how to change the default save as number? As in, if I am saving a number, it defaults the number as the work number. how can i switch that to default as the cell number.

    I got this phone refurb. and it didnt come with a manual. if anyone knows of a good online manual, please throw that my way, because i'm totally lost on this phone. thanks.

  2. #2
    rw5579's Avatar
    rw5579 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    131

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    Quote Originally Posted by zsjordan
    I just got my pearl in this week and im brand new to this type of phone so im a little lost.

    1. i need the phone to constantly vibrate while ringing (i'm partially deaf it feels like). I went to edit the active profile and went to phone and changed 'out of holster' to vibrate+ring. It still doesnt vibrate. I know the phone itself is capable because when i go to the vibrate option it vibrates, the ring option - it rings, the vibrate+ring option - nothing.

    2. Does anyone know how to change the default save as number? As in, if I am saving a number, it defaults the number as the work number. how can i switch that to default as the cell number.

    I got this phone refurb. and it didnt come with a manual. if anyone knows of a good online manual, please throw that my way, because i'm totally lost on this phone. thanks.
    1. it will vibrate then ring, it will not do both for duration

    2. it is a default, no known way to change

  3. #3
    heavychevy's Avatar
    heavychevy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    64

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    Quote Originally Posted by zsjordan
    I just got my pearl in this week and im brand new to this type of phone so im a little lost.

    1. i need the phone to constantly vibrate while ringing (i'm partially deaf it feels like). I went to edit the active profile and went to phone and changed 'out of holster' to vibrate+ring. It still doesnt vibrate. I know the phone itself is capable because when i go to the vibrate option it vibrates, the ring option - it rings, the vibrate+ring option - nothing.
    make sure when your editing the active profile your making sure the number of vibrations is not set to 0. Then it should vibrate then ring

  4. #4
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    look here for a complete manual and user guide. and you are not retarded -- you came to the right place for answers which shows some smarts!

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    also you can just hold down the # key and it will switch your profile to vibrate.

    Good luck let us know if you have more questions.

  6. #6
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    nice reddog...does holding # again default back to whatever profile you had set before you put it into vibrate using the #

  7. #7
    gkg3059's Avatar
    gkg3059 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    204bd5f7
    Posts
    451

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    If you want to add the primary number to be mobile, then you will have to copy and paste the number when creating a new entry for your addres book.
    ~posted via opera mini~

  8. #8
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770

    Re: p8100 is busted or im retarded

    yes...unfortunately since RIM intended BBs to be solely for the working class (meaning corporations and small businesses) they made the smart/obvious choice of making all numbers default to work #...and since they are still largely a private sector retailer i don't see them changing it any time soon unless the public makes a big enough stink about it...but will they even hear us way up there in Canadia (yes i know how to spell Canada)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •