Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Ok I see posts on here for operating systems for this and that. How do ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    popo341's Avatar
    popo341 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    329249D2
    Posts
    247

    OS version????????????

    Advertisement



    Ok I see posts on here for operating systems for this and that. How do I truly know what operating system I should have on my phone. Though it is brand new I know this doesn't always mean one's device is up to date.

    My phone says: v4.3.0.71 (platform3.1.0.37) Please Advise!

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    looks like US Cellular has a newer version
    you can load ANY carrier OS on your BB. if you decide to download one that isn't your own carrier, you must first delete the vendor.xml file found in the loader folder.
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com/blog.php?b=86

  3. #3
    popo341's Avatar
    popo341 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    329249D2
    Posts
    247
    Delete the what from the who?? Haha ummmm and I do this after I run the program prior to hooking up my BB to my computer??

  4. #4
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    Quote Originally Posted by popo341 View Post
    Delete the what from the who?? Haha ummmm and I do this after I run the program prior to hooking up my BB to my computer??

    lol ok calm down, deep breaths. first if you want to upgrade your devices OS version and its from the carrier where the phone came from then you dont have to do any deleting of any files.

    now what cherri was talking about is say you have a verizon OS and you like the Tmobile OS instead. there is a way to get any carriers OS on your device BUT you have a delete a file that is stored on your computer that tells your device what OS's can be loaded on it. hope that explained it some more

  5. #5
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by popo341 View Post
    Delete the what from the who?? Haha ummmm and I do this after I run the program prior to hooking up my BB to my computer??
    here ya go popo
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...lackberry.html

    sounds harder than it really is

  6. #6
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by Virex View Post
    lol ok calm down, deep breaths. first if you want to upgrade your devices OS version and its from the carrier where the phone came from then you dont have to do any deleting of any files.

    now what cherri was talking about is say you have a verizon OS and you like the Tmobile OS instead. there is a way to get any carriers OS on your device BUT you have a delete a file that is stored on your computer that tells your device what OS's can be loaded on it. hope that explained it some more
    DO NOT attempt to load a TMO OS on your 8130.

  7. #7
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    sounds harder than it really is

    yea its pretty easy. one step at a time and always do backups and you have nothing to worry about

  8. #8
    popo341's Avatar
    popo341 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    329249D2
    Posts
    247
    HAHA you stole the 10 deep breaths thing from me in through the nose out through the mouth!!! Anyway I have Sprint for a carrier if that matters. Does the vendor.xml file have carrier specific items? Plus it helps idnetify what carrier?

  9. #9
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    DO NOT attempt to load a TMO OS on your 8130.
    lol you beat me to it! i was thinking about it after i posted and i was like wait the 8130 is cdma and the tmob isnt! haha oh man but i was just trying to get a point that another carriers OS can be loaded on another device (as long as they are the same GSM/CDMA speaking)

  10. #10
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    ok sprint is a cdma device. you can load any other cdma carriers 8130 OS

  11. #11
    popo341's Avatar
    popo341 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    329249D2
    Posts
    247

    Confused

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    DO NOT attempt to load a TMO OS on your 8130.
    Ok now I am confused to the Heavens! Now you are saying don't load the OS when you said earlier that you could load it on to any pearl..........???? Ooootay!

  12. #12
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    the latest OS for your device can be found in jerry's blog (post #2)
    instructions for upgrading are in post #5

    the vendor.xml file tells DM what carrier it belongs to. by deleting it, DM will prompt your for a download. if you do not delete it (and its from a different carrier) then DM will not recognize an upgrade exists.

  13. #13
    popo341's Avatar
    popo341 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    329249D2
    Posts
    247
    Ok I do understand different carriers have different technology GSM, CDMA and all of that so that part makes sense to me. Ok well then I won't be trying any of that now will I!

  14. #14
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by popo341 View Post
    Ok now I am confused to the Heavens! Now you are saying don't load the OS when you said earlier that you could load it on to any pearl..........???? Ooootay!
    yes i did...but 8100 OS goes with 8100; 8130 goes with 8130
    so on...
    you need to stick to CDMA carriers such as verizon, sprint, us cellular

  15. #15
    popo341's Avatar
    popo341 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    329249D2
    Posts
    247
    Ok one says I can, One says I can't which is it my fellow BB's?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •