Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 66

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ so for the people who downloaded the new os, has your phone ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #31
    pearl-8100's Avatar
    pearl-8100 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    245ac9c6
    Posts
    305

    Advertisement



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ so for the people who downloaded the new os, has your phone been pretty stable or what?

  2. #32
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by pearl-8100 View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ so for the people who downloaded the new os, has your phone been pretty stable or what?
    I'd say stable with a few "buggY' quirks in the operation - nothing serious enough to make be go back yet. I still have a few things I want to try but remember that I'm a wi-fi only tester - no data plan. Other opinions?

    UPDATE: AND one other thing! I actually downloaded a video from You Tube and played it - streaming video via wi-fi! I'd forgotten that feature was in 4.5 - I can live with the bugs if I can stream videos!
    Last edited by jblackfish; 06-25-2008 at 10:24 AM.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #33
    li2327's Avatar
    li2327 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30D2E555
    Posts
    1,502
    I installed it the other day. Works good for me so far. And also youtube works great!
    ]

  4. #34
    pearl-8100's Avatar
    pearl-8100 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    245ac9c6
    Posts
    305
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~is streaming video fast without wifi. Because sometimes I'm not in a hotspot

  5. #35
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Depends on whether you have edge or not - nothing's fast in Little Rock without wi-fi.

  6. #36
    pearl-8100's Avatar
    pearl-8100 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    245ac9c6
    Posts
    305
    ~via BB 8120(wap.pinstack.com)~yes I have EDGE

  7. #37
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by pearl-8100 View Post
    ~via BB 8120(wap.pinstack.com)~yes I have EDGE
    ...then you can turn off your wi-fi and try to stream using EDGE and see how fast it is. To me, it would be fast because all I have here is GPRS - without wi-fi most internet activity and streaming would be unusable. It's all relative I guess.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #38
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119
    I had the 4.5 installed on my old 8100.. it was beta tho.. im guessing this one is going to better since it looks like its an official rim release... im going to install either today or tomorrow on the 8120- lets see if everything i hope for comes true!
    Phone: T-Mo S4- Stock-Rooted


    [Former]
    Device: T-Mobile S3
    Device: HTC Amaze 4G
    Device: HTC Vision (T-Mobile G2)
    Device: BlackBerry (9700, 8900,8320,8120,8100)

  9. #39
    frazzel001's Avatar
    frazzel001 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    I am going to give this a go on my 02 8120 and see what happens! looks like there are not too many bugs so far!

  10. #40
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Alrighty, here's my mini review of this 4.5.0.37 Rogers 8120 OS. I downloaded the OS last night and have been messing with it every since. Few "bugs" I have noticed.

    1. My text messages still show the red ! on every message I receive.
    2. When I reboot, all of my icons rearrange and folders disappear on 3rd party themes. (which is weird because it always remembers my wallpaper)
    3. I still get an error message after a reboot.
    4. Affect on 3rd party apps (I.E. - my WeatherEye won't display the weather on the icon itself, and Google Maps (and some other apps) won't change when highlighted. I don't know how to explain it, you know when the little hand on the google maps icon moves when highlighted, that's what I'm talking about.


    Everything else works
    1. Streaming video, camera's, etc.
    2. Browser seems faster (could be my imagination).

    I beleive this is the same 4.5 as the beta OS. It has the exact same problems as the beta I was running. No differences. I may downgrade until they get this OS working properly. The icons rearranging upon reboot is enough to drive me CRAZY!

  11. #41
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Oh, one more thing -- BBSMART MY ALARMS PRO WON'T WORK! I get an error "Uncaught exception: java.lang.NullPointerException"

    This is so frustrating. I am definetely downgrading to 4.3 as soon as I get home today.

  12. #42
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by tws777 View Post
    Oh, one more thing -- BBSMART MY ALARMS PRO WON'T WORK! I get an error "Uncaught exception: java.lang.NullPointerException"

    This is so frustrating. I am definetely downgrading to 4.3 as soon as I get home today.
    One other Pro is that my memory doubled from 5 million bytes to 11 million. IDK why?

  13. #43
    tws777's Avatar
    tws777 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    259
    Well, this is weird, now my BBSmart Alarms Pro work and my WeatherEye is updating on the icon. Also, my text messages no longer contain red !'s. This is good, now if I could just do a reboot and all my apps appear as I left them.

  14. #44
    Bananafish's Avatar
    Bananafish no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    I'm happy with everything except that minimonitor doesn't work. does anyone know of another application that will track data in 4.5?

  15. #45
    joeyclavette's Avatar
    joeyclavette no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2
    I'm a Canadian using cellphones on Rogers. I just bought a T-Mobile 8120 on Ebay and got it unlocked then inserted my Rogers SIM card in it. Everything was ok except the UMA. I can not make the cellphone go on UMA. It gives me Error code: W006.1 Status: ISP or T-Mobile Network error. So I downloaded the 4.5.0.37 Rogers OS upgrade thinking that it would chage the UMA setting to the Rogers ones. But no luck it still gives me that error. I spend 10 hours on this issue and can not resolve it. Can some one please help me resolve this or at lease shine some light the right way. Thanks in Advance.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •