Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

I cannot get the Opera Mini web browser to work on my BB Pearl 8100. ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    sergeant's Avatar
    sergeant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Opera on pearl

    Advertisement



    I cannot get the Opera Mini web browser to work on my BB Pearl 8100. I just got it and the Opera browser won't work. Any help would be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    mdspriggs's Avatar
    mdspriggs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    45

    Re: Opera on pearl

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~have you tried downloading Opera mini 4.0 beta? http://mini.opera.com/beta/mini.jad?...5&edition=hifi that one seems to work on my pearl. Of course it is beta so some options aren't there that may be available on the regular version.

  3. #3
    sergeant's Avatar
    sergeant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Opera on pearl

    How do I use that file?

  4. #4
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Opera on pearl

    Welcome to the Stacks Sergeant. You'll need to enter the APN Setting for your carrier (Options/Advanced/TCP): http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...t_carrier.html.

  5. #5
    sergeant's Avatar
    sergeant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Opera on pearl

    ok so how do I put in the address numbers or whatever they are? I have t-mobile in the US. The first option in that list didn't work

  6. #6
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: Opera on pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by sergeant
    ok so how do I put in the address numbers or whatever they are? I have t-mobile in the US. The first option in that list didn't work
    After APN: type in

    wap.voicestream.com

    leave all other fields blank and save.

  7. #7
    RemyKirin's Avatar
    RemyKirin no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    706

    Re: Opera on pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by sergeant
    ok so how do I put in the address numbers or whatever they are? I have t-mobile in the US. The first option in that list didn't work
    if you use the current beta for opera mini and are with t-mobile just put wap.voicestream.com for apn and leave the username and password blank, the rest auto-configs
    Last edited by RemyKirin; 07-17-2007 at 03:36 PM.

  8. #8
    sergeant's Avatar
    sergeant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Opera on pearl

    So what if I have done that and it still doesn't work?

    edit

    it says

    Error
    net.rim.device.cldc.io.waphttp.WAPIOException: NULL
    Last edited by sergeant; 07-17-2007 at 03:22 PM.

  9. #9
    mdspriggs's Avatar
    mdspriggs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    45

    Re: Opera on pearl

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~those settings may also get your original opera to work, plus some apps that require TCP settings. I actually have both active opera and opera 4 beta on by BB. My settings are a little different since I have a different service provider.

  10. #10
    sergeant's Avatar
    sergeant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Opera on pearl

    But I can't find the place to put in the numbers and with the web address it gives the error I described

  11. #11
    mdspriggs's Avatar
    mdspriggs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    45

    Re: Opera on pearl

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~did you look under options, advanced options, TCP? The voicestream should be under the apn, and evetthing else should be blank according to one of the above posts.

  12. #12
    sergeant's Avatar
    sergeant no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8

    Re: Opera on pearl

    Yes I have tried all the suggestions exactly and I have had no luck.

  13. #13
    mdspriggs's Avatar
    mdspriggs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    45

    Re: Opera on pearl

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~this may sound like a silly question, you do have a BB data plan.

  14. #14
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Opera on pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by mdspriggs
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~this may sound like a silly question, you do have a BB data plan.
    I was just thinking the same thing after reading all these.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  15. #15
    mdspriggs's Avatar
    mdspriggs no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    45

    Re: Opera on pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by sergeant
    Yes I have tried all the suggestions exactly and I have had no luck.
    been doing some snooping and found the following on another forum, I know it seems repetative except for the last item, the hard reset:

    From the BlackBerry device, navigate to Options > Advanced Options > TCP.
    Under APN, enter "wap.voicestream.com" (no quotations).
    Leave the Username and Password fields blank.
    Open the menu and save the changes.
    Perform a hard reset on the BlackBerry

    Have you tried the hard reset or a battery pull?

    After you installed the Opera Mini, when does the error message come up, does is come up after the app launches or before?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •