Results 1 to 14 of 14

soo i've had both for a while how.. but i'm having some problems and was ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    klubhead's Avatar
    klubhead no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    264

    opera mini/opera beta problems

    Advertisement



    soo i've had both for a while how.. but i'm having some problems and was wondering if anyone else gets this too...
    opera mini 3.1 will work pretty well, but sometimes it will freeze when loading a site.. gets stuck on "Processing.. " and the only thing i can do is either turn it off by means of power button or battery pull, when doing the powerbutton method i cant open opera again untill some error pops up and i click ok.

    and for opera 4 beta 2, sometimes it works fine and sometimes it just doesnt connect to anything at all.. i can sit there all day with it saying "Connecting.." and thats about all that happens.

    is anyone else having problems with them?

    and the best part about it is, when i get one of these errors on either opera, i'll go to the bb browser and try visiting a site, but that just says "Requesting.." till the status bar is full then starts over again. my internet def. works it just messes up a lot.

    -Have EDGE almost all the time.
    -Have umlim BIS plan.
    -Have TCP settings


    and BTW, i was going to wipe my device a while ago but didn't really know if i should do it for sure.. does that sound like a logical solution?

  2. #2
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    Since all 3 browsers are doing the same thing, I'm wondering if you're trying to load a site that just doesn't like loading in a mobile browser. Either that, or the location where you're having the problem isn't giving you a strong signal.

    Initial thoughts about Opera are related to the Beta, but since you're having the same problem with 3.1 and the BB Browser, I'm thinking its more related to the site you're trying to load or the location.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  3. #3
    klubhead's Avatar
    klubhead no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    264

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    The site it happens to the most is here because I'm here the most.. But it seems like more of a matter of time than matter of site with opera.. And I have no problems with the BB browser until opera messes up..

  4. #4
    zerodayz's Avatar
    zerodayz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    14

    Lightbulb Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    This happens to me almost everyday too.

    Pearl 4.2.1.101

    Opera 3.1.8295

    It happens all the time on http://pda.sky.com

    The site is designed for portable devices. It never happened on my last OS .94 I think.

    When it crashes, it actually only kills Opera, you can Alt-Tab out to other apps and use the rest of the device. A quick way to get Opera working again, is to power off the device, via the menu, then on restart, it will kill the crashed Opera thread. Its a lot less painful than the battery pull.

    I would love a fix though.

    zerodayz

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    Well.. Just checked and I can access it with no problem. Is the only web site you are having issues with?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    zerodayz's Avatar
    zerodayz no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    I can access it no probs, just that every now and then it will crash Opera while 'processing'

    It does happen on other sites too, just that, that is the one I use the most.

    zerodayz

  7. #7
    nickjoedotcom's Avatar
    nickjoedotcom no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    30C1D19D
    Posts
    475

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    I have different problem altogether. I have had opera on my phone several times and I've removed it each time. When I try to load it this time through the ota link it just takes me in a circle of links that are supposed to let me download the product. The only method that has worked was using the desktop manager. Which worked fine but the while initializing it fails the set up every time. Which is obviously strange since the only thing I've done since the last time I loaded the product was remove it. I have a 8830 for Verizon. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    Have you properly set your APN settings? Thats the most common casue of init failures in opera that I have seen.

    I also had no luck with the OTA links...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    nickjoedotcom's Avatar
    nickjoedotcom no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    30C1D19D
    Posts
    475

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    Although in response to the original post. I have noticed that if running both opera and the BlackBerry browser at the same time they will yield similar results on the page they are trying to load. So if it is at all possible for you to close opera and then switch to the other browser, that has worked for me on sever occasions. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  10. #10
    klubhead's Avatar
    klubhead no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    264

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    I thought that might be the problem also so I always close out of 1 browser before using another and it still happens.. It happens around 2-3 times a day.. Its seems like there's always some kind of problem when browsing, either a site won't respond or a browser feezing, or my favorite is when my BB browser goes into an endless flashing hourglass loop.. Only stopable by a battery pull..

    Don't really know what else I can do tryed clearing the cache many times, doing the routing tables thing, turning off and on wireless, battery pulls.. Just seems like such a hassle to get it working stable..

  11. #11
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    You're definitely having an unusual problem. You may want to try checking all the settings that have been suggested here. If you think everything has been done, I would think about wiping your handheld and reloading the OS. Be sure to do a backup before you start.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  12. #12
    xalizex's Avatar
    xalizex no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)
    Hello first post,
    I have searched but have not found anything regarding this so if you could point me to the right thread or offer some tips thatd be great. I just dl the opra mini beta on my pearl and It loads fine but I get a java.lang array out of bounds exception error and it crashes APN is set correctly thanks for all and any help

  13. #13
    klubhead's Avatar
    klubhead no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    264

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    Quote Originally Posted by xalizex
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)
    Hello first post,
    I have searched but have not found anything regarding this so if you could point me to the right thread or offer some tips thatd be great. I just dl the opra mini beta on my pearl and It loads fine but I get a java.lang array out of bounds exception error and it crashes APN is set correctly thanks for all and any help
    hey.. i just saw your other thread about this. something like that happened to me w/ the new beta.. i ended up uninstalling it, doing a battery pull, reinstalling, battery pull, then tryed and it worked.. give that a go

  14. #14
    xalizex's Avatar
    xalizex no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: opera mini/opera beta problems

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I had uninstalled and reinstalled battery pulled changed APN and still that stupid error however I tried switching the protocol from socket to http and it works a lot Better every now and then it will post the error but not nearly as bad I posted to kill the other thread after doing this thanks for the reply! :-)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •