Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hello, I've been trying to install Opera Mini Beta 4 on my pearl for a ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    nelsong's Avatar
    nelsong no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    488

    Opera Mini 4

    Advertisement



    Hello,

    I've been trying to install Opera Mini Beta 4 on my pearl for a couple of days no, and I've had no luck with this. I installed Opera Mini 3 and it's been working fine. When I do a manual install of the application I can see it getting installed and when I go to "Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications" I can see that it is installed but I can't see it on my home screen.

    Platform: 2.3.0.77
    App Versioni: 4.2.1.93

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advanced.

  2. #2
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    have you rebooted the phone just for prosperity? and check to see if the icon is hidden

  3. #3
    robertmrome's Avatar
    robertmrome no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    143

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    I've installed it... but am having problems with connection issues on AT&T... any suggestions??

    I have Opera Mini 3 working fine.

  4. #4
    nelsong's Avatar
    nelsong no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    488

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    have you rebooted the phone just for prosperity? and check to see if the icon is hidden
    I've rebooted a couple of times and I'm also showing all the hidden icons.

  5. #5
    StephOfOz's Avatar
    StephOfOz no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    23F6772D
    Posts
    25

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    I've got it working but I keep getting java error messages! Anyone know anything about that? I can only type in the address bar because of it. Not able to post messages for the java errors.

  6. #6
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    so version 3 works for both of y'all.

    robert, check your APN settings for ATT. look at my sig under APN settings and enter what it shows for your carrier here: optons --> adv opt --> TCP --> APN.....

    nelsong, when you dl beta 4, you did it through your bb browser yes?

  7. #7
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Quote Originally Posted by StephOfOz
    I've got it working but I keep getting java error messages! Anyone know anything about that? I can only type in the address bar because of it. Not able to post messages for the java errors.
    can you type what the error reads here?

  8. #8
    nelsong's Avatar
    nelsong no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    488

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    so version 3 works for both of y'all.
    Yes it does.

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    nelsong, when you dl beta 4, you did it through your bb browser yes?
    Sadly, I live in the Dominican Republic and my carrier (Orange) does not have BIS, so I'm stuck doing a manual install through BB Desktop Manager.

  9. #9
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    i just helped a guy in the cayman islands get it. just for giggles try typing in "internet" in your apn settings. i listed above how to find that for robert.

    you have internet capabilities on your phone though yes? if you don't have internet i don't see that this app would be worth having. maybe i'm confusing myself.

  10. #10
    Spamdumpster's Avatar
    Spamdumpster no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2423c9c5
    Posts
    234

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Quote Originally Posted by nelsong
    Hello,

    I've been trying to install Opera Mini Beta 4 on my pearl for a couple of days no, and I've had no luck with this. I installed Opera Mini 3 and it's been working fine. When I do a manual install of the application I can see it getting installed and when I go to "Options -> Advanced Options -> Applications" I can see that it is installed but I can't see it on my home screen.

    Platform: 2.3.0.77
    App Versioni: 4.2.1.93

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advanced.
    Are you installing OTA or through your PC?

  11. #11
    nelsong's Avatar
    nelsong no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    488

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    i just helped a guy in the cayman islands get it. just for giggles try typing in "internet" in your apn settings. i listed above how to find that for robert.

    you have internet capabilities on your phone though yes? if you don't have internet i don't see that this app would be worth having. maybe i'm confusing myself.
    Yes, I do have internet on the phone, I use Opera Mini 3 to navigate. When ever I try to run the BB Browser I get:

    "Your device does not currently have any Browser Configuration Service Book Entries"

    So I ended up using Opera Mini, but when I try to do an OTA install of OM 4 it tries to open BB Browser.

    I installed the newest version of the OS offered by blackberry a couple of hours ago but that only managed to break my Opera Mini 3. It freezes during the browser startup. I checked my TCP settings and they are fine.

  12. #12
    nelsong's Avatar
    nelsong no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    488

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Quote Originally Posted by Spamdumpster
    Are you installing OTA or through your PC?
    PC installation.

  13. #13
    CaCHooKa Man's Avatar
    CaCHooKa Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    416

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    it only works if you install it OTA

  14. #14
    8lackPearl's Avatar
    8lackPearl no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    23DECF97
    Posts
    41

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    It works on mine. I have T-Mobile, I installed it OTA, and I'm running the latest Rogers OS.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    nelsong's Avatar
    nelsong no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    488

    Re: Opera Mini 4

    Ah, see that's the problem. I can't install it OTA. I guess I'll just stick to 3.1 then.

    Thanks everyone.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •