Results 1 to 7 of 7

So, i downloaded Opera to try out, and some sites like google, and the preloaded ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    plucks's Avatar
    plucks no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2180BB67
    Posts
    109

    Opera Language settings

    Advertisement



    So, i downloaded Opera to try out, and some sites like google, and the preloaded bookmarks, such as MySpace show up in some sort of other language...Norwegian maybe?
    Other sites have no troubles, like yahoo

    Anyway to combat this?

  2. #2
    DriftorX's Avatar
    DriftorX no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me!!
    Posts
    466

    Re: Opera Language settings

    ive had that happen once to me and thats when i went to the m.live.com with it but after that i have not seen it do the same since.

  3. #3
    Mp55's Avatar
    Mp55 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    23e4903f
    Posts
    259

    Re: Opera Language settings

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Bump. I have have prob too.

  4. #4
    brainclots's Avatar
    brainclots no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    244ca01a
    Posts
    1

    Norwegian

    Methinks the problem here is that the Opera Mini browser uses proxy servers at Opera, which is in Norway, so when you connect to a site like google, it uses your IP address to determine which language to use when replying to you, except it isn't using YOUR address, it's using the proxy server's.

    How one solves this issue, I have no idea. But I am thinking of learning Norwegian.

    Brainclots
    @:^)

  5. #5
    reyno2ac's Avatar
    reyno2ac no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244ed125
    Posts
    41
    I'm having the same issue...A solution would be great

  6. #6
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I just downloaded Opera (OTA) and it gave me the chance to pick a language - English or some other language. Maybe if you tried the OTA download if you didn't do that.

    http://www.operamini.com/download/wap/blackberry/
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  7. #7
    reyno2ac's Avatar
    reyno2ac no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244ed125
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    I just downloaded Opera (OTA) and it gave me the chance to pick a language - English or some other language. Maybe if you tried the OTA download if you didn't do that.

    http://www.operamini.com/download/wap/blackberry/

    Mine gave me that, it still doesn't display google properly.

    I did however download their Beta and it has a google search bar built it, so I have no problem anymore.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •