Results 1 to 11 of 11

I've spent the last two days trying to get a good IM program in and ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    No privacy?

    Advertisement



    I've spent the last two days trying to get a good IM program in and right now currently have Ramble and Yak-On to work. There aren't privacy setting on these? I read Yak On didn't have (only after I downloaded it) but I was surprised that Ramble didn't? Is there any IM program that can allow privacy to be imported?

    Just downloaded google talk as well, but I'm a little confused as to how to get the program to work with AIM. Thanks for the help in advance!

  2. #2
    eddie8's Avatar
    eddie8 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    PIN/ID
    317eec66
    Posts
    125

    Re: No privacy?

    How about blackberry messenger? I use that one and it works good but is for bb users only. I also use aim by ramble which seems to be enough for me.

  3. #3
    sangesf's Avatar
    sangesf no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    23C8604D
    Posts
    32

    Re: No privacy?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I'm having problems with Ramble to work with aim buddies that are setup with cell phone numbers.. Some work.. Some don't.

  4. #4
    sangesf's Avatar
    sangesf no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    23C8604D
    Posts
    32

    Re: No privacy?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I tried getting Yak-On to work, but it just doesn't sign on to either my Aim or ICQ, yet Ramble kinda works (see above)
    Yak-on works for pin-to-pin, but not for any alternative services.

  5. #5
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: No privacy?

    Forgive me, not yet awake.

    What do you mean by privacy?

  6. #6
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    Re: No privacy?

    Quote Originally Posted by N8DBB
    Forgive me, not yet awake.

    What do you mean by privacy?
    I mean privacy as in the options when you log onto AIM on PC ie "Block Users Below" or "Only Allow Those in Buddy List" to see you. When I'm on Ramble or Yak-On everyone can see me.

  7. #7
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    Re: No privacy?

    So......has anyone yet to find a good program that imports settings of AIM on PC? =D

  8. #8
    mythmbhurts's Avatar
    mythmbhurts no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    204D7C8C
    Posts
    122

    Re: No privacy?

    Ramble uses the privicy settings that are set online!!!! also yahoo has multi privicy settings that you can set such as signing on invisable and any settings you make on your desktop will transfer over to yahoo on your BB
    PIN:204D7C8C http://forums.delphiforums.com/Blackberrytalk
    AIM:Austinsnyc
    Yahoo:Whips_n_licks@yahoo.com
    "8100" 4.2.0.64

  9. #9
    ericugs's Avatar
    ericugs no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    258

    Re: No privacy?

    I think IM+ uses privacy settings that are online as well (not 100% sure though)

  10. #10
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    Re: No privacy?

    Whoo thanks much for the info. Ahh...I guess it's either sacrifice privacy settings and use more stable Yak-On that re-connects if disconnected, or sacrifice the re-connection for privacy settings. I can never win. >< Wish I knew how to make programs.

  11. #11
    absolved's Avatar
    absolved no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    295

    Re: No privacy?

    Quote Originally Posted by ericugs
    I think IM+ uses privacy settings that are online as well (not 100% sure though)
    Because of your input, I've been using IM+ and I really love it! To answer that question, privacy settings DO transfer over (yay!). Even if you don't have privacy settings set, there is an option within the program that will allow you to only let people on your buddy list to contact you. Thanks much for the help all!

    Whew I hopes this helps other people as it did for me. Looks like paying is the only way to go for now.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •