Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Hey guys, first post so play nice. I have searched far and near, different forums ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    No applications....error

    Advertisement



    Hey guys, first post so play nice. I have searched far and near, different forums and read different topics yet I still can't find a tenable solution for this error. I cannot install any alx files. I keep getting that lovely "no applications designed or your device...." After contacting both T-mobile tech support as well as RIM directly I am at a loss as to why I keep receiving this error.

    I'm perfectly happy doing OTA installs which are easy enough but I'd like to know why this doesn't work. I've exhausted my google searching to try and resolve this, as well this forum and various others who have the same problem. Going through some of the same steps have not worked for me.

    I have the most recent desktop manager, v4.2as well sa the latest handheld software from T-mobiles website. I'm using an 8100.

    Thoughts, ideas? Any help would be much obliged.

  2. #2
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: No applications....error


  3. #3
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    Re: No applications....error

    Is it possible that my virus program, I have that aol free virus program whose technical name escapes me right could be causing a problem? Nothing other than aim is usually running on my computer at any given time?!

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: No applications....error

    This may sound simple but...after you launch DM and App Loader are you using "Add" to locate the new alx file you want installed?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    shmengie's Avatar
    shmengie no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    519

    Re: No applications....error

    also, an alx file by itself is worthless. you need the accompanying cod file. got cod?

  6. #6
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    Re: No applications....error

    Yes I am....still unable to load apps.


    Gary, I can't respond to your PM, it says I need 10 posts...soft launch (still rumored but from various reliable sources) nationwide should be sometime late next month. We've been taking the training on it, we have UMA training at our corp office on June 8. All I do know for sure is the pricing which will remain at 19.99. We also have the marketing for it in the stores. These are all signs that lead to a release within a few weeks.

  7. #7
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    Re: No applications....error

    Quote Originally Posted by shmengie
    also, an alx file by itself is worthless. you need the accompanying cod file. got cod?
    I have not tried that, is that a possible solution? I was under the impression only the alx file was the necessary part.

  8. #8
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: No applications....error

    The "no applications designed or your device...." response is usually an indication that the handheld software is not actually installed on the PC. Did you actually install it by double clicking or otherwise executing the downloaded exe file.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    Re: No applications....error

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr
    The "no applications designed or your device...." response is usually an indication that the handheld software is not actually installed on the PC. Did you actually install it by double clicking or otherwise executing the downloaded exe file.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I did because prior to installing it the applications listed in my device showed nothing, after the handheld software install it showed the included applications list in my application loader.

  10. #10
    shmengie's Avatar
    shmengie no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    519

    Re: No applications....error

    Quote Originally Posted by arigold
    I have not tried that, is that a possible solution? I was under the impression only the alx file was the necessary part.
    the alx file is basically the 'wrapper' in an xml-like format. it tells the dm what the prog is, where the install file (the cod) is, etc. another thing to note is: i've occasionally gotten that error only to find the app listed in my app loader, but unchecked. (i think it's weird to get that message). anyways, checking the item in the app loader and clicking 'next' fixes it in those situations. keep us posted.

  11. #11
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: No applications....error

    And you have both the alx and cod files you're trying to install in the same location?

    Rcbjr
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    Re: No applications....error

    No I have not attempted it with a .cod file, is that required with the .alx? Is it possible that this is my mistake and the cause of my problems?

  13. #13
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: No applications....error

    I would say that it is. It's the cod file that gets installed. As shmengie said, the alx file just tells the app loader how.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    arigold's Avatar
    arigold no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    23dfdf80
    Posts
    53

    Re: No applications....error

    Alright I'll be giving this a try after work today. I have to say on another note, some of the insight I have learned perusing this forum has helped me in immeasurable ways when speaking with customers.

    Just a thanks.

    I hope this helps because its really damn frustrating when it continues to give me that same error message.

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: No applications....error

    Arigold....I guess we never asked where you got the alx files from. When you DL and unzip you should get a new folder with alx and cod files. Add the alx file in the app loader and see if this works.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •