Hey all, I jumped into my pool with my old phone in my pocket so ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

yoonabomb no está en línea Stack level 1

New Pearl owner, few noob questions. Yes I've read faqs.

Advertisement

Hey all, I jumped into my pool with my old phone in my pocket so here I am now with a Blackberry Pearl. I followed the instructions on updating my OS and deleting all the unecessary stock pics and ringtones so I'm not a complete noob.

Can I utilize any map functions without a data plan? (I'm guessing no)
    What useful applications can I use without a data plan?

Thanks

Shel no está en línea Stack level 3

Re: New Pearl owner, few noob questions. Yes I've read faqs.

You kind of limit yourself without a data plan. If you're with T-Mo, it's only $20/month.

You can't really use maps, because all of the map programs don't install all data on your bb (it'd take up too much precious memory), but download the info as it's needed.

You should still be able to download some cool games (search for the newest version of pacman, which utilizes the pearl and has sound) if you're into games.

You can download themes, games, a chronograph program... but honestly, the coolest programs are the ones that take advantage of the internet.

BBWeather, Google Maps, AskMeNow, Berry411... all of these require data plan. Sorry.

Founder no está en línea Stack level 3

If you haven't data plan, you wasted your money buying ANY Blackberry device.
    Without it, you can use only phone functions, which are much better on other (and cheaper) phones.
    In space no one can hear you scream.

Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock Jelly Bean 4.3)
    Samsung GT-I9505 Galaxy S IV (stock KitKat 4.4.2)
    Samsung GT-I9100 Galaxy S II (CM 10.2)

CoolJ no está en línea Stack level 1

I do not have a data plan, and I can use my BB maps and Google maps. Can't use my browser though, but I have high speed internet access all day at work and at home. So it really doesn't bother me.