Results 1 to 9 of 9

I received my pearl yesterday sealed in the box and I must say I like ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    kris1351's Avatar
    kris1351 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    New Pearl 8100 Issues

    Advertisement



    I received my pearl yesterday sealed in the box and I must say I like being back to a BB device over the Treo. I have an issue though that no one can hear me on the handset or the speakerphone. The only way I can speak to anyone is through the bluetooth headset I have. Could it be this thing was shipped with a bad mic or could it be disabled somehow? It hasn't been bumped, the box was in perfect condition and everything seems normal on it.

  2. #2
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    ok, obviously im gonna ask first, did you make sure you turned the bt off/disconnect? i'll admit that i have forgot to turn it off before and tried to speak to someone thru the headset instead of the earpiece...just making sure

    have you tried a battery pull? take battery out while phone is on, leave out 30 sec, replace, reboot...

    what device OS are you running?
    options/about
    3rd line down

    ps...welcome to pinstack

  3. #3
    kris1351's Avatar
    kris1351 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    4.2.0.73

    Yea I only hooked up the BT after I couldn't speak to anyone on the handset. I have pulled the battery a couple of times, I was hoping it was a firmware issue instead of hardware.


    Thanks for the welcome!

  4. #4
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    maybe a wipe and fresh install of the firmware will fix it...surely wont hurt it

    to wipe, first perform backup (with DM) and then go options/security options/general settings
    choose menu/wipe handheld

    then follow these instructions

    link to the OS you have (choose red pearl from drop down menu)
    https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...rade_your.html

    post back to let us know how it goes

  5. #5
    irombeach's Avatar
    irombeach no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    217

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    Yes, upgrading firmware is the best choice, but don't forget the warranty.
    Perhaps is better to return your BB for a fresh brandnew BB (I think your are just in time).
    My opinion, of course.
    Bye, Claudio
    ____________________
    All my FREE BB themes on
    http://irombeach.nxserve.net/news.php
    'Works in progress'
    ____________________


  6. #6
    kris1351's Avatar
    kris1351 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    Hmm, followed the instructions for the upgrade but it did not prompt to install something new on the desktop software.

  7. #7
    makija's Avatar
    makija no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    113

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    because you didnt download the new os on to your destkop and instaled that on your pc, after that when its done it should prompt you as soonest you connect your bb

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by kris1351
    Hmm, followed the instructions for the upgrade but it did not prompt to install something new on the desktop software.
    Did you delete the Vendor.xml file?

  9. #9
    kris1351's Avatar
    kris1351 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: New Pearl 8100 Issues

    Yes deleted the vendor file and downloaded the new desktop. I will try again on the computer at home, like I said everything works perfectly except the mic. Cingular is giving me grief about replacing it since I purchased it from one of their online retailers also.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •