Hi, I'm a Newbie here (thanks for having me) but not with the 8130. I've ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

Jimsathome no está en línea Stack level 1

Smile New better Media Player for the Pearl??

Advertisement

Hi,

I'm a Newbie here (thanks for having me) but not with the 8130. I've had it since January but moved (for business reasons) to a dumb (Motorolla) phone since May. I just moved back to the Pearl yesterday (as a personal phone => it's a great SmartPhone ) and I am trying to get it up to speed.

I'm on Telus, and the software is 4.3. They advise a move to 4.5 "soon" but my experience with them over the years is their motto should be "Better late than never". (You'll all be on 5.0 before I see an official 4.5 ) They are so slow releasing new hardware and software upgrades.

I'll probably wait for an official release (as I'll try to remain official => at least to start) so in the meantime can you advise a decent free media player?

The one on the phone is passable but not stellar. It would be great to see a definitive guide or post on it. I still can't find any tone controls or EQ settings. I guess it can't read some mp3s unless they are tagged. It doesn't seem to read file names only. Do you know if it can play tunes via Bluetooth heads phones (like an iLuv i903 ?) so I can answer a call when needed ?

As you can tell this is the area I'm stumbling with. I'm headed to an 8 gig MicroSD card soon and want to get the most out of the phone. I've got a lot of yard work and house maintenance coming up and it'll be great if I can use this for tunes instead of an iPod. (I know the 16 gig cards are coming but it's like the 4.5 OS => no one really knows when and how much $$.)

Is xPlayer any good? (I'd prefer a freebie or at least a trial version to check out if possible). I looked around and all the posts I found on Media Players for the pearl were quite old. (Sorry if I missed some.)

Please advise any info or tips you can give. Thanks for the assist.

Regards,

Jim