This site is so AWESOME! Thanks to everyone who contributes! I'm brand new to the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

hbeachum no está en línea Stack level 1

Thumbs up New BB'r-Custom profiles possible? Any free password/wallet software?

Advertisement

This site is so AWESOME! Thanks to everyone who contributes! I'm brand new to the Blackberry community with my first BB phone - Pearl via Cingular - BiS, not BES and the $30 data package. I switched to the Pearl mainly for one reason only - I wanted to stop lugging around my heavy, cumbersome Dell Axim X51 that never really worked well with the Internet and never many free wireless spots that would work. I was carrying it around for my grocery/to do list, Outlook contacts and notes. So...when i saw that the Pearl seemed to synch flawlessly with Outlook contacts according to most Amazon posts on the Pearl, I decided to go for it. The Cingular Smartphone 3125 was really the only other choice and it had very mixed reviews and was a flip phone which I don't like really.

Anyway, BYE BYE Axim X51 - I absolutely love the Pearl - was worth EVERY PENNY of the $200 and I love having my home email "pushed" to my phone 24/7. That's worth $30 p/mon just by itself and i think that being able to check traffic and maps on the road during a vacation will be worth it too.

My questions are: 1) Is there a way to create a custom profile? My work just sent out an email beseeching people to keep their phones on "vibrate" only with no ringtones allowed. I want to create a custom profile for just work that disallows any calls at all, including those from those in my contacts with customized rintones, to come through in this profile only. Then, on weekends and evenings, I can switch back to the "loud" profile which i prefer. The only way I can see so far is to choose "quiet" and then just uncheck all the many ringtones i have assigned? This isn't bad, just wondering if all the exceptions stay unchecked as I switch back and forth between profiles.