Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

ok so i downloaded the new Desktop manager 4.6 and OS 4.5.0.55 software and installed ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    uchippa's Avatar
    uchippa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4FAC0
    Posts
    34

    Need 4.5.0.55 help

    Advertisement



    ok so i downloaded the new Desktop manager 4.6 and OS 4.5.0.55 software and installed them on my machine. I deleted vendor.xml

    Connected the pearl, and when I go to application loader it only shows version 4.2.

    Please help!

  2. #2
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    it does not tell you that you have new software??
    hmmm
    are you sure you got the new OS for the pearl?
    I know it sounds dumb but I've done it before.

    it should just load...
    maybe try reinstalling it and try again?
    anyone else?
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  3. #3
    Skier87's Avatar
    Skier87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    188
    did you uninstall the older OS and DM first?

  4. #4
    uchippa's Avatar
    uchippa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4FAC0
    Posts
    34
    how do you uninstall older OS and doesnt older DM just get updated?

  5. #5
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    You dont HAVE to have the new version of DTM, the older version will load the new OS fine. When you DL the 4.5 on your PC and hooked your device up to it, after you start DTM, APP loader, it should tell you that updates are available for your device (new OS) and do you want to update. If you are upgrading an OS you do not have to delete/erase your old OS. Like Luciferseamus said, make sure you are trying to DL the correct OS compatible with your device. Post back if you have problems. Ive got to work, but someone here will help.

  6. #6
    uchippa's Avatar
    uchippa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4FAC0
    Posts
    34
    I see v5.0.55 for BlackBerry 8100 Smartphone when I go to Help, About DM, Device Software. It's installed, but it never asks me to update and when I go to application loader, it won't show the OS. I've done this before and am stumped this time....

  7. #7
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Me too. Something is not right. I DL the new DTM, but didnt like it and went back to the older version. A tech will help you soon-gotta go. Good luck.

  8. #8
    cbeslash's Avatar
    cbeslash no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    26936cc9
    Posts
    648
    On your pc go to control panel/add and remove programs/ from there delete blackberry device software 4.2 then istall 4.5 software. Open desktop manager and plug in your bb it should tell you there is new software to be installed.

  9. #9
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by cbeslash View Post
    On your pc go to control panel/add and remove programs/ from there delete blackberry device software 4.2 then istall 4.5 software. Open desktop manager and plug in your bb it should tell you there is new software to be installed.
    Exactly. Remove the older 4.2 as cbeslash says and then if the one you have doesn't work, remove it using the same method and re-download the 4.5 making sure that it is for your specific device.

    Then install to your p-c, delete the vendor file and try to install using the same DM. It should work and be aware that the install can take up to an hour - be patient with it.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  10. #10
    cbeslash's Avatar
    cbeslash no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    26936cc9
    Posts
    648
    oops forgot to mention to delete the vender xml file. Thanks fish

  11. #11
    uchippa's Avatar
    uchippa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4FAC0
    Posts
    34
    Not working still...Should I use an old DM?

    Is something on my phone blocking it from thinking I need an update? I have T-Mobile US.

  12. #12
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    if you deleted the vendor.xml file and are using at least DM 4.3 I know it will work.
    I don't know about earlier versions.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  13. #13
    uchippa's Avatar
    uchippa no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E4FAC0
    Posts
    34

  14. #14
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    wow, thought you'ld have this solved by now. you dont have any sort of IT policy on the device do you? this thread will get bumped up and someone will respond.

  15. #15
    ashain_boy's Avatar
    ashain_boy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    24590702
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by cbeslash View Post
    oops forgot to mention to delete the vender xml file. Thanks fish
    what does deleting this file do ???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •