Results 1 to 7 of 7

i apply my own mp3 ringtones to certain callers. i tried to change the mp3 ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jack124's Avatar
    jack124 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    my ringtone wont change to a new one

    Advertisement



    i apply my own mp3 ringtones to certain callers. i tried to change the mp3 ringtone to a new song and saved it under a contact. the problem is that it keeps playing the original ringtone and not the new one even though i double checked that it was saved under the new one. how do i fix this problem?
    any help is appreciated. THANKS!

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: my ringtone wont change to a new one

    Hey jack, welcome to the stacks.

    It would help greatly if you filled out your profile...helps us get to the problem quicker.
    What OS are you running? What carrier do you have?

    Most of the time an update of the OS will get rid of this. Usually older OS's have this issue.

    Let us know...then we can direct you in the right direction.

    Cheers
    ~red

  3. #3
    kylogram's Avatar
    kylogram no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: my ringtone wont change to a new one

    change a tone and do a battery pull.

  4. #4
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: my ringtone wont change to a new one

    Hmmmmm...so you made a new ringtone and you tried to attach it to a contact but it won't stick. You know what I've done. I put it back to a standard ringtone. And then put the ringtone that I want on there. Give that a shot. And sometimes your phone just mite need a battery pull
    Hope that helps
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    ocboomer's Avatar
    ocboomer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: my ringtone wont change to a new one

    i had the same problem and is one of the initial reasons i returned my pearl. the earlier poster is correct, pull your battery, i think you have to do it longer than 30 sec and that's it. for what ever reason the firmware only recognizes the first time you change the ring tone. if you want to avoid pulling your battery there is also software available called soft reset...it does the same this as a battery pull but without the hassle.

  6. #6
    jack124's Avatar
    jack124 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: my ringtone wont change to a new one

    you do have to pull out the battery to replace the ringtone...if it was this much of a hassle i wouldnt of gotten it. but thanks alot guys!

  7. #7
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945
    Quote Originally Posted by jack124
    you do have to pull out the battery to replace the ringtone...if it was this much of a hassle i wouldnt of gotten it. but thanks alot guys!
    You normally don't have to do that. But every so often it gets a mind of its on. I'm glad you got it working.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •