Results 1 to 7 of 7

The first time he used a blackberry he fell in love also. Then the trackball ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    ashdub01's Avatar
    ashdub01 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2460d307
    Posts
    256

    My cousin's pearl is definetly unlike ANY other.

    Advertisement



    The first time he used a blackberry he fell in love also. Then the trackball stopped working so he got another pearl, I upgraded it for him just like I upgraded his last one to 4.5. His new pearl worked for a few months then one day it stopped reading his SIM card, it wouldn't read ANY SIM card.Where it usually says Tmobile or "searching" it says "initialization failed" I go to the SIM card option in Options and it says "SIM not recognized" We cleaned the phone out completely along with the sim and it still doesn't work. He went back to using a RAZR while his BB sits around collecting dust. Now he wants me to try to fix it. I was going to try to re-install the OS. but after DM tries updating the phone I see "A fatal error has occured while updating your device's software. Please try again." Any idea why his phone is like this? Should I wipe the phone first then try to update it?
    **Ashmee**

  2. #2
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Wiping it 1st is the best bet. What DM version do you have? Use 4.6. Because 4.7 is still too buggy yet.
    Also what operating system do you have on your PC?
    Also when you do get the update done, clean the SIM card with a pencil eraser.
    (works great on any type of electronics connections)
    I worked on electronics for General Motors for 30 yrs, so I know it works.
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  3. #3
    papareyenc's Avatar
    papareyenc no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    354
    everyday is a learning day here in PS.

    Taking notes

    Thanks Cobra

  4. #4
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I had the "Initialization Failed" error about a year ago. I had to replace the SIM card.

    To correct the fatal error message (which I encountered during an OS upgrade on an 8100), I had to:

    1) Uninstall the latest OS on the BB and PC. Reboot PC.
    2) Reinstall an OLD OS on the PC and BB.
    3) Delete that OS from the PC. Reboot PC.
    3) Reinstall the NEW OS on PC. Reboot PC.
    4) Reinstall NEW OS on BB.
    Last edited by EricaJ1073; 03-24-2009 at 09:05 PM.


  5. #5
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Yeah, what she said
    Thanks Erica!
    I'm busy on another thread at the moment.
    Didn't mean to leave a short answer.
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  6. #6
    ashdub01's Avatar
    ashdub01 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2460d307
    Posts
    256
    Quote Originally Posted by EricaJ1073 View Post
    I had the "Initialization Failed" error about a year ago. I had to replace the SIM card.

    To correct the fatal error message (which I encountered during an OS upgrade on an 8100), I had to:

    1) Uninstall the latest OS on the BB and PC. Reboot PC.
    2) Reinstall an OLD OS on the PC and BB.
    3) Delete that OS from the PC. Reboot PC.
    3) Reinstall the NEW OS on PC. Reboot PC.
    4) Reinstall NEW OS on BB.
    OK I will try this later on tonight. This is alot to do lol.
    **Ashmee**

  7. #7
    ashdub01's Avatar
    ashdub01 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    2460d307
    Posts
    256
    Quote Originally Posted by SVT Cobra View Post
    Wiping it 1st is the best bet. What DM version do you have? Use 4.6. Because 4.7 is still too buggy yet.
    Also what operating system do you have on your PC?
    Also when you do get the update done, clean the SIM card with a pencil eraser.
    (works great on any type of electronics connections)
    I worked on electronics for General Motors for 30 yrs, so I know it works.
    My DM is 4.6 My computer is a dell running xp sp2 His phone currently has 4.5.0.55 and I want to put the same one on it from a1. I have used this same OS several times with no probs. He got a new sim that I will try in it once it's done and if not I have several others running around my room that I will clean and try. I will wipe right now.
    **Ashmee**

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •