Results 1 to 10 of 10

I have a brand new pearl but i didn't sign up for the Data plan, ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jmilien's Avatar
    jmilien no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Post MMS Questions

    Advertisement



    I have a brand new pearl but i didn't sign up for the Data plan, I wonder if that's the reason why i don't get the "Compose MMS" option when creating messages. Someone please let me know what's up?

  2. #2
    trigga15's Avatar
    trigga15 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    21655FFB
    Posts
    925

    Re: MMS Questions

    yeah you have to have a data plan in order to send MMS...you really should add that on to your plan...it brings a lot more out of the pearl : )

  3. #3
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: MMS Questions

    jmilien, welcome to PinStack.

    I am not sure I understand what a lot of posters say about having to have a BB Data Plan to use MMS. I don't use TMO, but I always thought that MMS was associated with SMS and used the same transport as SMS, which should not require a BB Data Plan. I understand that TMO could require an addon MMS package.

    Can anyone from TMO, verify that a BB data plan is required to send and receive MMS on a BB device on the TMO network, or do you just have to have an MMS package?

    jmilien, again Welcome. and to anyone that can answer my question, Thanks for your help
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  4. #4
    trigga15's Avatar
    trigga15 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    21655FFB
    Posts
    925

    Re: MMS Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr
    jmilien, welcome to PinStack.

    I am not sure I understand what a lot of posters say about having to have a BB Data Plan to use MMS. I don't use TMO, but I always thought that MMS was associated with SMS and used the same transport as SMS, which should not require a BB Data Plan. I understand that TMO could require an addon MMS package.

    Can anyone from TMO, verify that a BB data plan is required to send and receive MMS on a BB device on the TMO network, or do you just have to have an MMS package?

    jmilien, again Welcome. and to anyone that can answer my question, Thanks for your help
    Rcbjr.
    you have to have a data plan because im pretty sure it uses data somehow from the bb

  5. #5
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: MMS Questions

    As I said in my previous post, I was under the impression that it uses the same transport as SMS messages. If it uses the BB Data network, how can non network capable devices do MMS Messages?

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  6. #6
    ericugs's Avatar
    ericugs no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    258

    Re: MMS Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr
    As I said in my previous post, I was under the impression that it uses the same transport as SMS messages. If it uses the BB Data network, how can non network capable devices do MMS Messages?

    Rcbjr.
    I was under the impression that it was TMobile doing it so more people signed up for the BB plan.

  7. #7
    trigga15's Avatar
    trigga15 no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    21655FFB
    Posts
    925

    Re: MMS Questions

    im pretty sure thats why there are mms plans for other phoenes and thats why they put them all together sms,mms, etc. and hiked the prices up because it cost data somehow

  8. #8
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: MMS Questions

    With Sprint-Nextel you do not need a data plan to send sms or mms. Should be the same?

  9. #9
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: MMS Questions

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    MMS is sent as "data".

    In the case of a BB, without a data plan, the device cannot send anything, unfortunately including MMS.

    But really, on digital devices, "data" is such a grey term; even voice calls are technically data, because they are transmitted digitally, no analog.

    MMS fall into that grey area as well, because they are associated with SMS, but they act as data. If you had all data blocked on any device (BB, Moto, Nokia), MMS would not work.

    With a BB, until a BlackBerry Data Plan is subscribed to, there will be no service book for MMS pushed to the BB, and hence, no menu option to compose MMS.

  10. #10
    cp6169's Avatar
    cp6169 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    PIN/ID
    3056468b
    Posts
    14,661

    Re: MMS Questions

    I have a 7520 here without a data plan and it sends and receives mms fine, I have a 7100i without a data plan and it wont do either. Both are on OS 4.1. Thats weird huh.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •