Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hello again all, I was wondering why my Blackberry Pearl is missing some of the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Advertisement



    Hello again all,

    I was wondering why my Blackberry Pearl is missing some of the menu options that the instruction manual has. I cannot find "Set up Internet" it jumps straight from "Set up Bluetooth" to "Turn Wireless Off" ... I also don't see "T-Zones" anywhere either.

    Why is this the case... I did check organize applications section too.. it's not in there.

  2. #2
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Set Up Internet and TZones, assuming that you don't have a data plan running to your device. Do you have a browser icon?

    If you have added a data plan, you need to register your handheld with the network by going options/advanced options/host routing table, register now.

  3. #3
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Even on the main screen where the browser should be.. the little world with an arrow around it... instead of that I have "Enterprise Activation"

  4. #4
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Indeed this SIM card does not have a BIS data plan... I didnt think that would affect the main option menus.

  5. #5
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    OK I put the SIM card in that DOES have the BIS plan in. Same thing.. nothing happened.. although it doesn't say data connection refused anymore...

  6. #6
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Register it.

    The browsers need to be pushed to your device.

    Options/Advanced Options/Host Routing table, click menu and click Register.

    Will be pushed to your device in probably less than a minute and those icons will appear.

  7. #7
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    I am starting to think you are right N8... you MUST use BIS to get any sort of data to this phone... maybe the pearl isn't for me.

  8. #8
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    I did the steps above N8.... and a screen says "Registration Messange Sent!" ...and then.. it has been ten minutes... nothing has happened.

  9. #9
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Ok I just got off the phone with T Support... it could take up to 48 hours?

  10. #10
    Lewis's Avatar
    Lewis no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    207BBC6D
    Posts
    1,285

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You could also try going to the BIS page of your carrier and set up an account.

    And yes, without BIS or BES or a BlackBerry Data Plan, a BlackBerry is just another phone: voice & SMS only.

  11. #11
    nabitheking's Avatar
    nabitheking no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3047E391
    Posts
    141

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    I have 8700g, so I am not sure if this would work.
    What I'd try is hold the ALT key down and press the trackwheel (I should say TRACKBALL,right?) on your main screen.
    These is a little dropdown menu that you will see on the upper right hand corner, then go ahead and scroll down to SHOW ALL and press the trackball again.
    This will bring back all the hidden icons that might have not shown on the screen to begin with. And look for the icons you are hoping to find.
    Hope this helps...

  12. #12
    JiveRobot's Avatar
    JiveRobot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    yeah... that doesn't work... I guess ill just wait for tmobile to send me that authorization code registration program thing... 48 hours...

  13. #13
    mythmbhurts's Avatar
    mythmbhurts no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    204D7C8C
    Posts
    122

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    you set up a an account with T-mobile on a regular computer first once you do that it auto sets up your BIS for you and the browser and correct service books will be pushed to your BB. First it will send you a temp password and then you can go ahead and change it after the fact
    PIN:204D7C8C http://forums.delphiforums.com/Blackberrytalk
    AIM:Austinsnyc
    Yahoo:Whips_n_licks@yahoo.com
    "8100" 4.2.0.64

  14. #14
    crosse's Avatar
    crosse no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Currently I have any blank command window icons for Google services nor do i have a browser icon...mmm...i just got data, and am using zen but can't figure out why i dont have icons for google mail and google maps on my home screen. any help would be appreciated!

  15. #15
    moses2628's Avatar
    moses2628 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,946

    Re: Missing Icons "Set up Internet" .."Tzones"

    Quote Originally Posted by N8DBB
    Set Up Internet and TZones, assuming that you don't have a data plan running to your device. Do you have a browser icon?

    If you have added a data plan, you need to register your handheld with the network by going options/advanced options/host routing table, register now.
    Just wiped my GF's pearl, due to a myfave icon going completely into a blue dot, and didn't have a world icon. Followed your instructions, and it worked perfectly. Thanks!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •