Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi, I live in Brazil and bought my 8100 from a local carrier (TIM), without ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    fboucinhas's Avatar
    fboucinhas no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    Question Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    Advertisement



    Hi,

    I live in Brazil and bought my 8100 from a local carrier (TIM), without knowing that there is a difference between BIS and BES. It turned out that I bought a BIS phone, but my company has the Enterprise server in the US and now I need to find out a way to know whether or not I coud use this phone on a BES e-mail account.

    Do I need to install anything, or it's only a matter of configuration, in this case, how should I proceed?

    I've already contacted the local carrier and learned that I'd have to buy a special corporate BB service, but my phone should be compliant with BES.

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    You just need to have the correct plan and contact your BB admin to get them to add you to the BES. They will tell you what you have to do. But they have to initiate it.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    fboucinhas's Avatar
    fboucinhas no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    The problem is that I've contacted the carrier and they said that the phone also needs to be prepared for BES, as it's only sold for end users (not business ones) but as this service is kind of new for them, they aren't sure what needs to be done (believe it or not!)

  4. #4
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    There should be no phone preparation necessary. You may need to re-install the Desktop manager software using the enterprise option, but the rest has to be done on the BES end until the BES admin tells you to perform an enterprise activation.

    Hope this helps.
    Rcbjr
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    fboucinhas's Avatar
    fboucinhas no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    ok thanks for that

  6. #6
    estuardo4's Avatar
    estuardo4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    I have another question for this:

    My company wants me to add my phone to their BES server to receive corporate mail, but as I'm paying for my BIS plan by myself, Is it possible just to receive my corporate e-mail along my personal e-mail? Or is it just BES or BIS, not both? I've never used BES and I don't know if it let you receive different e-mails and navigate Internet as with BIS.

    Thank you for your answers.

    gb

  7. #7
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    Unless your IT Department places an IT policy on your BB through the BES prohibiting it, you can use the BB on both the BES and BIS. Many members are doing it.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  8. #8
    estuardo4's Avatar
    estuardo4 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Migrating from BIS to BES in 8100: possible?

    Thank you. I asked my IT dept. if their rules and it seems that I will be able to use both.

    Thank you again.

    GB

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •