Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

How does Password Protection work? Do I need to eneter my password everytime I use ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    walds11's Avatar
    walds11 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    518

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    Advertisement



    How does Password Protection work? Do I need to eneter my password everytime I use the phone?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr
    Yes, the memory cleaner is only available with content protection on (Password Protection on).

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.

  2. #17
    bbriand's Avatar
    bbriand no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    170

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    Wow great find!

    As to it wiping the address bok mine has a Yes/No option titled "Include Address Book" if you have it on No it does not appear to clean out your address book (haven't tried it with Yes but I'm assuming it wipes it then).

    As to having to put your password in each time you'll notice an option called "Security Timeout". It has multiple values you can set it to up to 1 hour. After that timeout occurs by performing no actions with the phone you WILL have to input your password next time you go to use your phone.

    Simple solution is if you just want to wipe your memory, turn "Content Protection" On, put a simple password in, wipe memory then turn "Content Protection" Off. Although at the top there is an option callled "Password" that can be set to Enabled/Disabled that might make it so there is no "Security Timeout" if you have it to Disabled - haven't tested that yet.

    Bill

  3. #18
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    This is in OS64 too. I turned it off a couple weeks back to help speed up my Pearl as any type of encryption only slows things down.

    It does not fix the memory leaking and the best fix is still to pull the battery once a week.

    Also by turning Content Protection on it messes up the names for your CID in some instances. Just read the help and thats probably why not many turn this on and if someone has CID problems they are told to turn it off.

  4. #19
    wayne_d's Avatar
    wayne_d no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    When looking to see how memory is being used under Status, there is the File Free and File Total. The latter is ~64K and the former is 0. I assume File Total = free memory. True? What is File Free, used memory?

  5. #20
    kenau_reveas's Avatar
    kenau_reveas no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    31

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    Nice work man..its working for me now...

  6. #21
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    wayne_d

    File Total = total memory available on the device. Free = the amount that is still available for use FREE = 0 means you need to do a Cold Reboot (Battery Out, wait 15-30 sec, Battery Back in), then do something to reduce the memory being used.

    Used Memory will be File Total - File Free.

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #22
    StaceyRVC's Avatar
    StaceyRVC no está en línea Community pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    9,321

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I wish this would clean the cache too

  8. #23
    wayne_d's Avatar
    wayne_d no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    rcbjr, tx. i figured free=0 was an issue. The device is only a day old and was only used for a few hours before this happed (the only mod made was I loaded Yahoo Go V2). After a a cold start, it is now registering 13M available. This still seems really low (this ain't Windows Mobile ;-)... a few follow up questions

    1. Where can I find what is using memory and how do I identify what I can nuke and then how do I nuke these things? I did find the database size, and its only 650K. I assume there is application (and config file) space being used and then data space, how do I figure this stuff out?

    2. Where are items like under Status:free file and under SMS: number of previous items get defined? I looked in the user manual and that is not so good.

    Btw, you folks do a great job here. RIM should be giving you folks free stuff as you are Customer Service IMHO.

    W.

  9. #24
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: memory cleaning for pearl

    One of the things you can do is to delete any unwanted Language Support Apps, either using the Apps Loader in Desktop Manager or directly from Options/Advanced Options/Applications. As to the Number of Previous Item, that is in Options/SMS Text.

    From the Options/Status, clicking the menu button will give an option to View the Databases.

    You might want to browse through some of the links on the BB FAQ and Guides for more tips and suggestions.


    hope this helps
    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  10. #25
    johu65's Avatar
    johu65 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    24470e33
    Posts
    160
    wipe handhelp will erase my address book but it will still be on my sim card and easy to load back right?
    PIN: 24470E33

  11. #26
    Virex's Avatar
    Virex no está en línea Banned for Content theft
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    CUSHION
    Posts
    723
    Originally Posted by Rcbjr
    Yes, the memory cleaner is only available with content protection on (Password Protection on).

    Hope this helps
    Rcbjr.

    thats not correct. i use memory cleaner on my 8130 and i have content protection disabled. i think what your trying to say is you cant disbale memory cleaner *when* content protection *is* enabled. :P

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •