Results 1 to 14 of 14

I was fiddling around with all the stuff in the security and status screens and ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    karen898's Avatar
    karen898 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53

    Question Memory Clean - anybody use that?

    Advertisement



    I was fiddling around with all the stuff in the security and status screens and came across something called "Memory Cleaning", under "Security Options" and the default was set to "diabled".

    Has anybody changed theirs to "enabled"? What is it, how does it work, and what memory is it clearing out of the BB, and in what instances would we need to use it? I have sufficient memory for the way I use my Pearl because I have a micro SD card for it, so I guess I shouldn't even be concerned with it. But it bugs me cuz I don't know!

  2. #2
    GazN's Avatar
    GazN no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    68
    Hey Karen... just took this quote from a search on the site - hope it helps...

    We all know that the BlackBerry's memory tends to get clogged up, eventually requiring a battery pull. However, a lot of people don't know that there's a way to get the BB to clear out the memory on it's own. It's called Memory Cleaner, and it will clean out the junk that clogs up the RAM. You need a password and content protection enabled. Here's how to set it up:

    1) Set a password
    * Go to Options->Security->General Settings
    * Click Password, change to Enabled, set timeout to preference
    * Click Content Protection, change to Enabled
    * Save changes, set your password
    * Note: You may want to set Desktop Manager to automatically do backups in case you forget your password

    2) Enable Memory Cleaning
    * Go back to home screen if already in Options
    * Go to Options->Security->Memory Cleaning
    * Click Memory Cleaning, change to Enabled
    * Change timeout to preference
    * Save changes

  3. #3
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yep, use it all the time. Can't ever have too much memory! Try it and you'll see what it's clearing.

    A minor annoyance is that after a reset, it will be disabled, so you have to go back in and re-enable it.

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by GazN View Post
    1) Set a password
    * Go to Options->Security->General Settings
    * Click Password, change to Enabled, set timeout to preference
    * Click Content Protection, change to Enabled
    * Save changes, set your password
    With newer 4.5 OS's you don't need to do this anymore.......just go in and enable it.

  5. #5
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    I use it too, and now, sometimes mine resets with a reboot and sometimes it doesn't - can't figure why? (4.5.0.69, 8320)
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by jblackfish View Post
    I use it too, and now, sometimes mine resets with a reboot and sometimes it doesn't - can't figure why? (4.5.0.69, 8320)
    Probably the same or a similar reason the "Wireless Update" function disappears after a reset.

  7. #7
    phatmanxxl's Avatar
    phatmanxxl no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    3M TA3
    Posts
    611
    I used it once, its easier just to do a soft reset.

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    For those who are curious, here is what this function does...(from the BTSC) It is actually more of a security function than an actual "cleaner" as most tend to think of it...

    Your handheld’s memory can contain sensitive information such as passwords, email message bodies, and private keys. To eliminate the risk of that information being compromised, BlackBerry supports a feature called Memory Cleaner. The Memory Cleaner has two main functions:

    Secure Garbage Collection
    Clearing Caches
    Secure Garbage Collection

    All Java objects are stored on the handheld in RAM or flash memory. Normally, when a Java object is no longer needed, the memory assigned to that object is released to be overwritten by new data. When Memory Cleaner is enabled, the Java Virtual Machine (JVM) overwrites the memory using zeroes before it is released. As a result, there is no way to retrieve the data from the memory chips.

    Note: If you want the memory overwritten several times with zeroes and non-zero data, you should erase the data on the handheld using the Wipe Handheld feature.

    Clearing Caches: Memory Cleaner clears various caches on the handheld including the temporary key store, content protection caches, address book caches, and the handheld clipboard.

    See the Additional Information section on the website linked above for the complete list of cleared caches.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    karen898's Avatar
    karen898 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53

    Thumbs up

    Thanks, everybody - great info.

  10. #10
    ray244190's Avatar
    ray244190 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    askme
    Posts
    156
    Quote Originally Posted by GazN View Post
    Hey Karen... just took this quote from a search on the site - hope it helps...

    We all know that the BlackBerry's memory tends to get clogged up, eventually requiring a battery pull. However, a lot of people don't know that there's a way to get the BB to clear out the memory on it's own. It's called Memory Cleaner, and it will clean out the junk that clogs up the RAM. You need a password and content protection enabled. Here's how to set it up:

    1) Set a password
    * Go to Options->Security->General Settings
    * Click Password, change to Enabled, set timeout to preference
    * Click Content Protection, change to Enabled
    * Save changes, set your password
    * Note: You may want to set Desktop Manager to automatically do backups in case you forget your password

    2) Enable Memory Cleaning
    * Go back to home screen if already in Options
    * Go to Options->Security->Memory Cleaning
    * Click Memory Cleaning, change to Enabled
    * Change timeout to preference
    * Save changes


    I guess im lucky then. It works without setting up the password or enabling the protection. Funny thing is that i dont remmber this on 4.2. just saw it after i upgraded to 4.5. Maybe i just never paid attention. Been known to do that a time or two.
    Normal is but just a setting on a dryer

  11. #11
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by ray244190 View Post
    I guess im lucky then. It works without setting up the password or enabling the protection. Funny thing is that i dont remmber this on 4.2. just saw it after i upgraded to 4.5. Maybe i just never paid attention. Been known to do that a time or two.
    The post you refer to is what is required to set this up to work in 4.2. You are correct, it is a menu item in 4.5.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #12
    icuqtpie's Avatar
    icuqtpie no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    125
    Yeah I never use this feature! Good ol hard reset fixes most problems lol or clears out most unwanted things!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    maxqc's Avatar
    maxqc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5
    How often do you guys do a battery pull ? Once a week ? Once a day ?

  14. #14
    ray244190's Avatar
    ray244190 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    askme
    Posts
    156
    I do mine about once a week. I also do a batery pull when add an app to my phone. A reboot just doesn't seem to do the same as a pull.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •