Results 1 to 8 of 8

I am in the market for a pearl. a big question i have is if ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    pghdc5's Avatar
    pghdc5 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9

    may sound like a dumb question, but...

    Advertisement



    I am in the market for a pearl. a big question i have is if there is a setting where u can make the qwerty keyboard recognize what your typing. it'd be easier to explain....

    so i want to type, idk, were.

    QW|ER|TY

    is there a setting so i would only have to hit the QW button once, and then the ER button three times, and it knows i want to say were. kinda like T9... and if so, where is it?

  2. #2
    summerhowell's Avatar
    summerhowell no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    189

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    Correct me if I'm wrong fellow stackers I think T9 is a predictive text and that's not available until the 4.3 OS sometime next year. Right now, we have multitap which is as close as we get to a predictive text.
    ~via BB Pearl(wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    summerhowell's Avatar
    summerhowell no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    189

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    My bad. I totally read your post wrong. Yes, hitting the "qw" once and "ere" three times will spell "were". But you still might have to choose the word you meant to spell if there is more than one word with those letters.
    ~via BB Pearl(wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You can change from suretype to *multi-tap* (kinda like T9)

    But can't remember how. Something like holding down * while in a text window.

  5. #5
    mac14x's Avatar
    mac14x no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    217a1629
    Posts
    731

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    To get the multitap you just go to the menu window and click "enable multitap" but its annoying coz you have to be rly fast. Like if you want to get letter Y you have to click it rly fast otherwise you gonna get letter T

  6. #6
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    I think the keyboard speed is adjustable in the Options-Screen/Keyboard.

    Rcbjr.
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  7. #7
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    Quote Originally Posted by Rcbjr View Post
    I think the keyboard speed is adjustable in the Options-Screen/Keyboard.

    Rcbjr.
    Correct, half way down the screen under "Key Rate" you can choose Fast, Normal, Slow

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: may sound like a dumb question, but...

    Wouldn't this all be covered in suretype?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •