Results 1 to 13 of 13

Anyone else have this problem? I have an 8100 on AT&T, but the phone was ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jeffkeller's Avatar
    jeffkeller no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Locking up with 4.5 OS ?

    Advertisement



    Anyone else have this problem? I have an 8100 on AT&T, but the phone was issued by CellularOne, who has since been bought out by them...

    Anyways, I up'ed to 4.5 and after a minute or so the phone locks up.

    Would not deleting vendor.* cause this? I think I may have forgotten to do that before hand... hmm

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Did you do the upgrade with a media card in the device?

  3. #3
    beeshabo's Avatar
    beeshabo no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,397
    Well, depending on the version of the 4.5, it may not have even had a vendor file to delete. I second the media card question, try pulling out the battery and media card, put the battery back in without the media card. Let it boot up, see how it runs, if it's okay, re-insert the media card.

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Welcome to PinStack, by the way, Jeff! We'll getcha back up and running.....

  5. #5
    jeffkeller's Avatar
    jeffkeller no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6
    Yes, I had the media card in when I did the upgrade, and since it kept locking up i downgraded back to 4.2 (again with the SD in) but who wants that right?!

    And of course the dumb thing ate my address book when I downgraded. All else was untouched.

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Well, then you'll need to offload your card to the PC, do the upgrade again, this time without the card in the device. Once the upgrade is finished, reformat the card in the device, then copy all your media back over to the card and you should be good to go.

    There is another method that might have worked as well, but since you've already downgraded, it's best to use the above method.

    I'm just thinking that in a lot of these cases, somehow the media card gets corrupted, which in turn, freaks out the device.

  7. #7
    cbeslash's Avatar
    cbeslash no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    26936cc9
    Posts
    648
    Meida cards seem to be a big problem when installing os. Usually it 1 or more of the pics on it.

  8. #8
    mmdogg01's Avatar
    mmdogg01 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    3061FF98
    Posts
    15
    Is this why my phone keeps resetting. I upgraded 2 4.5 with the card still in and haven't reformatted. My phone keeps resetting whenever the card is in. It's like a constant loop. Will formatting the card fix this problem?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    mmdogg,

    If you have an adapter, try reformatting the card on your PC first to see if that doesn't stop the reset loop. Make sure you offload the stuff on your card first, of course! If you put it back in the device and all is well, then you can transfer your stuff back onto the card. You might have some corrupt files on the card, so be aware of that if the loop starts again. Maybe even just to be safe, reformat the card in the device before moving the media back onto it.

    Good luck!

  10. #10
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    Man i just don't get this 4.5 is running on my 8100 flawlessly, i'm not rubbing it in btw well maybe a little lol. j/k. Anyway here is exactly what i did.

    Downloaded the OS from blackberry website.
    Removed color pearl and SD card before upgrade.
    Closed DM
    Run the 4.5 OS program
    Followed the steps.

    And uhhhh that's it. My 8100 had no problems whats so ever just slow to load apps the first time entering them and the camera is takin some blue *** pics but that it.

    I hope it works for you the cuz the OS is prettty sweet.

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    ^^^ Yes, in most instances, that's the way it should and does go, but there are times when something goes wrong. That's why we're here.....to help people get through the little qwirks that occasionally rear their ugly heads!

  12. #12
    jeffkeller's Avatar
    jeffkeller no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6
    Fixed it... It must have been the SD card.

    I reflashed 4.5 without the SD in, and when I reinserted it, the phone started to lock up again, even after reformating. I then went into the Media Card Options and seleted 'remove' media card, then saved, then installed media card and formatted again. Now everything seem ok... except....

    Now the red LED comes on and won't shut off untill I cycle power! heh

  13. #13
    th0575's Avatar
    th0575 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    245BA541
    Posts
    51
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i have not had any problems with 4.5 and I did it with the SD card in. It is great

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •