Results 1 to 10 of 10

I got an 8100 that was locked to Tmobile. I unlocked it, but the phone ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    kjfreepta's Avatar
    kjfreepta no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    just unlocked the 8100, but I can't hear?

    Advertisement



    I got an 8100 that was locked to Tmobile. I unlocked it, but the phone # that it lists as my phone number is incorrect and I can't hear anything on the phone.

    I am totally new to Blackberry and have no idea what to do. Help please. Thanks

    Keith

  2. #2
    RedNightHawk's Avatar
    RedNightHawk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    422
    What SIM/Carrier are you using now?

    And if you call what should be your current number now does your phone ring?
    Last edited by RedNightHawk; 11-12-2008 at 10:56 PM. Reason: Edited to add the bit re: incoming calls.

  3. #3
    kjfreepta's Avatar
    kjfreepta no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    AT&T.
    Yes phone will ring, and I am able to call another phone.
    But when calling or receiving a call no sound comes out of the speaker.
    The only sound I can get is a ring for incoming calls.

  4. #4
    RedNightHawk's Avatar
    RedNightHawk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    422
    Number one, do a battery pull (pull the battery out when the phone is on, wait about 30 seconds and pop it back in), or download SoftReset and do a softreset.

    Then see if your number is showing correctly, and check if you play a video if you're getting sound (I assume you will since the ringtone is playing). If you happen to have a headset plug it in and see if you're getting sound from that during a call.

    Also, chew some bubble gum. That way if you came here to chew bubble gum and kick a$$, you'll be done chewing bubble gum and ready to kick a and get this resolved.

  5. #5
    RedNightHawk's Avatar
    RedNightHawk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    422
    Suppose I should mention the obvious and point out that the phone volume and media volume aren't linked, so make sure volume is up on phone calls not turned off or anything. I'm assuming you've already done that though.
    Last edited by RedNightHawk; 11-13-2008 at 12:38 AM.

  6. #6
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Quote Originally Posted by RedNightHawk View Post
    Number one, do a battery pull (pull the battery out when the phone is on, wait about 30 seconds and pop it back in), or download SoftReset and do a softreset.

    Then see if your number is showing correctly, and check if you play a video if you're getting sound (I assume you will since the ringtone is playing). If you happen to have a headset plug it in and see if you're getting sound from that during a call.

    Also, chew some bubble gum. That way if you came here to chew bubble gum and kick a$$, you'll be done chewing bubble gum and ready to kick a and get this resolved.
    LMAO!!

  7. #7
    Mr_Carter's Avatar
    Mr_Carter no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,388
    When answering a call, try pushing the volume bottom up...
    Could also try the mute key... Who knows if there is a setup set to answer with volume low or whatever. Let us know what happens. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    kjfreepta's Avatar
    kjfreepta no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    Tried turning up the volume when answering a call, display indicates volume
    is up all the way.
    Someone can hear me speak thru the phone on the other end of the call but I
    can't hear them.

  9. #9
    RedNightHawk's Avatar
    RedNightHawk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    422
    Quote Originally Posted by RedNightHawk View Post
    Number one, do a battery pull (pull the battery out when the phone is on, wait about 30 seconds and pop it back in), or download SoftReset and do a softreset.

    Then see if your number is showing correctly, and check if you play a video if you're getting sound (I assume you will since the ringtone is playing). If you happen to have a headset plug it in and see if you're getting sound from that during a call.

    I'm assuming you did all of the above without progress, in which case I would probably try wiping the device (only if you're familiar with the process since you can wind up turning the BB into a paperweight otherwise) and then reloading the OS. It actually sounds like you're only getting half-duplex instead of full-duplex, but this isn't a Push To Talk model so if that actually is the case something's way wrong (again, a good time to reload the OS and see if that fixes it or if it is a hardware issue).

    To make sure all user settings are wiped you should probably use JL_Cmdr before reinstalling the OS (again, only if you know what you're doing). Make sure you backup all your data first (assuming you won't have much only having had the phone a few days).
    Last edited by RedNightHawk; 11-17-2008 at 08:15 AM.

  10. #10
    RedNightHawk's Avatar
    RedNightHawk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    422
    You may want to check this out too

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com..._glitch-93798/

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •