Results 1 to 15 of 15

I signed into the T-mobile site and added my gmail account with no problems. I ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371

    Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    Advertisement



    I signed into the T-mobile site and added my gmail account with no problems.

    I then went to do the same with my Hotmail account (yes, I have the premium service that you pay for). It pops up an error window saying:

    "This service only supports Internet Service Provider (POP/IMAP) email and work email such as Microsoft Outlook /Exchange and Lotus Domino /Notes.

    Please try adding another email account".


    This worked on my 7130c while I was with Cingular. Why is it not working now?

  2. #2
    Maximus's Avatar
    Maximus no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    132

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    Just to bump, Gmail works great with BB.

  3. #3
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    mr. deeno, i have mine pushed to BB and it works fine. Do you think it has something to do with the premium service maybe?

  4. #4
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    mr. deeno, i have mine pushed to BB and it works fine. Do you think it has something to do with the premium service maybe?
    No, Hotmail requires the premium service to be able to allow BB to push emails.

    I wonder if it has something to do with T-mobile's earlier problems (it was giving Error 404 page not found errors all day until recently).

    I'll call up T-mobile later on if I can't resolve it.

  5. #5
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    Quote Originally Posted by mrdeeno
    No, Hotmail requires the premium service to be able to allow BB to push emails.
    Hmm...ok, I guess I'm a little confused. I have the free hotmail service, which I have had since BEFORE Microsoft owned it. I don't pay for any premium service, yet mine is pushed to my BB via the BIS client. I hope someone didn't tell you that you had to pay for it ...or is it a TMO rule? BC I'm on cingular?

  6. #6
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo
    Hmm...ok, I guess I'm a little confused. I have the free hotmail service, which I have had since BEFORE Microsoft owned it. I don't pay for any premium service, yet mine is pushed to my BB via the BIS client. I hope someone didn't tell you that you had to pay for it ...or is it a TMO rule? BC I'm on cingular?
    I think it was a new thing they phased in, so if you already had it, you were grandfathered to be able to do it without paying.

    When I set up my Cingular-BB thing, as soon as I added the hotmail address, it said I would have to get the premium (or plus or whatever they call it) service from hotmail in order to integrate it with BB.

    So I figured that I was phasing that address out eventually anyway, so decided to pay for once (per year) and then stop once all my contacts were using Gmail.

    Everything worked fine...up until today when my t-mo account was activated. Gmail sets up fine, but I'm wondering why it would give me this error at all. It doesnt' make sense.

  7. #7
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    well i am certainly glad i know that now, considering that my hotmail address is the ONLY address i use...i've had it too long.

    it doesn't make sense and i wish i could be more help...sorry

  8. #8
    skip00319's Avatar
    skip00319 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    23d051c6
    Posts
    180

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i don't think Tmo supports hot mail at this time. I wasn't able to set my hotmail account when I got my BB.

  9. #9
    Tanisha_B's Avatar
    Tanisha_B no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    23e503ao
    Posts
    7

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    Good I love my Gmail!

  10. #10
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    I'll call T-mobile later tonight and let everyone know what the deal is...whether it's just a temporary problem or if they don't support hotmail or what.

    I really don't see why they wouldn't support hotmail.

  11. #11
    X Factor's Avatar
    X Factor no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    204AEE68
    Posts
    96

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    comcast ftw also...

    never thought i'd say that.... O.o

  12. #12
    williamlc21's Avatar
    williamlc21 no está en línea Stack Lead
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    653

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    tmobile does not support the use of hotmail
    "I'm the best there is. And even if you beat me, I'm still the best." -Fast Eddie Felson(The Hustler)

  13. #13
    mrdeeno's Avatar
    mrdeeno no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    371

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    bastards!

    I called them up and confirmed that they don't support hotmail/msn "at this time."

    what's the freakin' deal?

  14. #14
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    at this moment hotmail is not supported... sorry

  15. #15
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Just set up my Gmail, but Hotmail is giving me error!??

    well...that is very good to know! bummer for tmo and hotmail users...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •