Results 1 to 6 of 6

I sure this has already been discussed another thread but i was just is the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    jayjay7411's Avatar
    jayjay7411 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    3189BF5E
    Posts
    389

    Is the 8130 a 3g phone??

    Advertisement



    I sure this has already been discussed another thread but i was just is the 8130 a 3g phone cause on the back of the phone it says 3g cdma? And if it is 3g already is that cause of it being a cdma phone because none of the blackberrys from gsm carriers are 3g?? but that would make sense because i havent really seen a bb from a gsm carrier really keep up with my cdma speeds... well not yet there is the bold coming soon..... and i have also heard sprint working on 4g is the true??

    Just Some Questions I Had Thanks For Answers Ahead Of Time!!

  2. #2
    tbhuang2's Avatar
    tbhuang2 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    88
    I believe the 8130 does not have 3G. It has EV-DO Rev. 0 which some call 2.5G because it is better than EDGE/GPRS (2G) but not as good as HSDPA (3G). I could be wrong. From what I've glanced at, EV-DO Rev. A isn't much faster than Rev. 0. One difference between what we CDMA owners and 3G owners have is ours doesn't support simultaneous high-speed voice and data. Only one or the other at one time. HSDPA allows both simultaneously.
    Last edited by tbhuang2; 08-04-2008 at 02:28 PM.
    BB Wishlist:
    -Gmail BIS integration with an effective 2-way read/unread sync solution.
    -More capable integrated alarm.

  3. #3
    TheNoZone's Avatar
    TheNoZone no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12
    I did notice what you meantion... when I'm on my phone... none of my data is accessable.

  4. #4
    kane's Avatar
    kane no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    30349623
    Posts
    849
    All CDMA phones are 3G to my understanding ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    tennessee31's Avatar
    tennessee31 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    30
    Any EVDO capable phone is considered to be a 3g device.

  6. #6
    5 one's Avatar
    5 one no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    35
    if you are with alltel then you use 1xEV (CDMA2000).

    take a look at these links.

    http://www.cellular.co.za/technologies/cdma/1xev.htm

    http://www.cellular.co.za/technologi...ma_w_paper.htm

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •