Results 1 to 12 of 12

im at T-moblile, but they never update..so can i use rogers? and wats different... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    triniboy979's Avatar
    triniboy979 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    29

    is it ok if i use another os?

    Advertisement



    im at T-moblile, but they never update..so can i use rogers? and wats different

  2. #2
    HeyMrRadio's Avatar
    HeyMrRadio no está en línea Themes Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,290

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    Usually when you use another carrier's OS, some of your functions may be missing. IE in the case of the Curve, sometimes browsers wouldnt show, other times, there were no issues at all. Make sure you have a copy of tmo's OS just in case you have to revert back to it.

  3. #3
    triniboy979's Avatar
    triniboy979 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    o ok, i see, i have a pearl btw

  4. #4
    SDEEDY's Avatar
    SDEEDY no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    117

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    Using another OS not provided by your carrier voids your warranty supposedly.

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    It's just fine to use another carriers OS. As long as the OS is for your specific device you're fine. Everything will be usable. Nothing should go wrong if installed properly.

    Good Luck, if you need more assistance just ask.

  6. #6
    triniboy979's Avatar
    triniboy979 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    oh ok thnkx, cuz tmobile nevers updates

  7. #7
    w9ndb's Avatar
    w9ndb no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    Quote Originally Posted by triniboy979
    im at T-moblile, but they never update..so can i use rogers? and wats different
    I'm fairly new to the modern BBs but it is my impression from reading forums that many people do this. I, personally, have not tried it yet but am likely going to move to the newest OS in the near future.

    nb

  8. #8
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    I have a friend that changed his OS like most people change their underwear. He always takes his pearl in just before the warranty runs out and gets another one, and they've never said anything about the OS being changed. I'm not saying that it dosen't void the warranty, I've heard that too. I'm just saying I don't think it's the first thing they look for.
    The above commentary is for entertainment purposes only. If this was actual joke the tone you just heard would have been followed by emergency response information. It's supposed to be fun people.

  9. #9
    SDEEDY's Avatar
    SDEEDY no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    117

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    Quote Originally Posted by synik103
    I have a friend that changed his OS like most people change their underwear. He always takes his pearl in just before the warranty runs out and gets another one, and they've never said anything about the OS being changed. I'm not saying that it dosen't void the warranty, I've heard that too. I'm just saying I don't think it's the first thing they look for.
    So why does he do this and how does one get away with this? Is his "new" phone the same model?

  10. #10
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    You can use any OS that you want to, regardless of the Carrier that issues it. As long as it is for your particular model phone, it won't have issues. There are a couple of extra steps you have to take when loading the OS from a different carrier, but they are not difficult.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  11. #11
    synik103's Avatar
    synik103 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    OICU812
    Posts
    2,013

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    Quote Originally Posted by SDEEDY
    So why does he do this and how does one get away with this? Is his "new" phone the same model?
    he does it to have a new phone (same model: pearl for pearl) without scratches, dings, wear, etc. he has made getting something for nothing an ART.
    The above commentary is for entertainment purposes only. If this was actual joke the tone you just heard would have been followed by emergency response information. It's supposed to be fun people.

  12. #12
    triniboy979's Avatar
    triniboy979 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: is it ok if i use another os?

    oh but can i ask what do the roger update have that the tmolibe doesnt?, cuz the numbers are higher
    Quote Originally Posted by LaTuFu
    You can use any OS that you want to, regardless of the Carrier that issues it. As long as it is for your particular model phone, it won't have issues. There are a couple of extra steps you have to take when loading the OS from a different carrier, but they are not difficult.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •