Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

I have tried several times to make calls using voice activated dialing, but all it ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    harm_dzines's Avatar
    harm_dzines no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    395

    Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    Advertisement



    I have tried several times to make calls using voice activated dialing, but all it does is piss me off. When I say "Call Becky" it then asks "Call Nikki? Vikky?" Which pisses me off because I dont even have a phone # saved to a Nikki or a Vikki. Is anyone else having these issues?
    Any help would be great, thanks!
    ____________________________
    8100 Black, 8100 White, 8320 Titanium, 9700 Bold2, htc myTouch & iPhone 3GS

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    Couple of things. Check your language setting for voice dialing, may be set on UK instead of US? If not, you can change it to say, UK and then back to US and it will force the system to initialize and read your contacts.

    Good luck!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    harm_dzines's Avatar
    harm_dzines no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    395

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    Couple of things. Check your language setting for voice dialing, may be set on UK instead of US? If not, you can change it to say, UK and then back to US and it will force the system to initialize and read your contacts.

    Good luck!
    Tried it, still got the same results, only now a Kristi was added to the list of her saying "Did you say..."
    ____________________________
    8100 Black, 8100 White, 8320 Titanium, 9700 Bold2, htc myTouch & iPhone 3GS

  4. #4
    RemyKirin's Avatar
    RemyKirin no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask me
    Posts
    706

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    change the sensitivity settings for the voice dial that may help

  5. #5
    Shel's Avatar
    Shel no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    309

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    I find that breaking up my commands works better then saying everything at once.

    "Call"... wait for her to say "Call who"....

    "Call John Smith"... wait... Call John Smith?

    "Yes"...Home, Work or Mobile?

    "Home"...

    Seems to work about 9 out of 10 times. Actually amazes me.

    Keep in mind, I have about 300 contacts. If you have thousands of contacts, don't expect it to work very well... too many names for it to search out, and too many that probably sound similar.

  6. #6
    Nikols's Avatar
    Nikols no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    27

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    My experience has shown me that it works best if you dont use single word names.

    Instead try " Call, Becky Smith"

    The more info you give it the better it can narrow down the search.

    Although I have never known my Pearl to list a name that I did not have in my phone, that is strange to me!

  7. #7
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    are you enunciating properly? i found out there are many syllables i don't articulate properly, which was causing vad to not respond adequately. i now adjust my speaking when using vad and have not had a problem since.

  8. #8
    l8nite's Avatar
    l8nite no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    204CA7AF
    Posts
    25

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    I agree with Nikols I have had to ad last names to my contacts and I normaly have a 90% sucses rate with voice dailing there is also a way to program it if you go to options> voice dialing> menu> adapt digits. this seems to help too.

  9. #9
    anfrey's Avatar
    anfrey no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    A5KME41T
    Posts
    895

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    anyone know what the "choice lists" option is about?

  10. #10
    Goodfellas's Avatar
    Goodfellas no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    23eee733
    Posts
    22

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    Don't worry. I've had the same problem. I just gave up on it too. I would rather type the persons name than battle with voice dialing

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    Like others have said, have a first and last name in the person's contact entry. Then, when you are speaking, pause slightly between each word. Call...Becky...Smith...

    It doesn't like it as much if you try to give it commands at normal conversation speeds. And if you don't have a last name, its going to get confused quickly.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  12. #12
    wu-wei's Avatar
    wu-wei no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    CHERS!
    Posts
    114

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I've also noticed that the sort order option impacts VAD. I prefer to sort my addresses Last Name, First Name but then VAD searches (or at least appears to search) on last names. Double check that your sort is set to First Name Last Name, too.

    Anyone else notice this?

  13. #13
    harm_dzines's Avatar
    harm_dzines no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    395

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    I have tried everything you guys have suggested, still doesnt work. I keep telling the VAD to call Becky (my wife) and it still keeps saying "Did you mean Nikki, Christy? " I have tried calling several different names I have in my contacts, it keeps bring up all these different names, none of which are close to who I am trying to call. This is really irritating . I did reset the language to another language, and then back to english. Still doesnt help. And btw, I speak nearly perfect english
    ____________________________
    8100 Black, 8100 White, 8320 Titanium, 9700 Bold2, htc myTouch & iPhone 3GS

  14. #14
    harm_dzines's Avatar
    harm_dzines no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    395

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by RemyKirin
    change the sensitivity settings for the voice dial that may help
    What level do you guys have this set at?
    ____________________________
    8100 Black, 8100 White, 8320 Titanium, 9700 Bold2, htc myTouch & iPhone 3GS

  15. #15
    brooke03's Avatar
    brooke03 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2,258

    Re: Irritated with the voice activated dialing!!!!!!

    I've never had mine read back a name I didn't have in my phone. :x

    Try changing the sensitivity?
    /~*brooke



Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •