Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi there stackers, I am hoping someone out there can assist me. Long story shot ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    3klub's Avatar
    3klub no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12

    Installing OS after devise wipe

    Advertisement



    Hi there stackers, I am hoping someone out there can assist me. Long story shot is that I was having problems with my OS on my 8100 (att/cingular) so I decided to wipe the devise with Java Loader and start fresh. Now its wiped and I have deleted the vendor xml file and have OS 4.3 file on my desktop. The problem is: When I connect to DM it does not recognize the OS needs to be installed. From what I have read here and have experienced is that DM should automatically recognized the need for an OS because of deleting the vendor xml file. I click Application loader on DM and there is nothing(probably should'nt be since there is no OS). When I click add, the file on my desktop does not show only when I select the "all files" option when finding the file location. Doing it that way brings up message: There is an XMl syntax error on line 1. So I'm stuck with a phone that works but just needs the main program, the OS. HELP SOMEONE!!!

  2. #2
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    That's because your trying to load the 4.3 OS which is NOT for the 8100. It is for CDMA BB's, the 8100 is GSM. You need to download the latest 4.2 for the 8100 from here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...f_29jan08.html

  3. #3
    3klub's Avatar
    3klub no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by doughdaddy View Post
    That's because your trying to load the 4.3 OS which is NOT for the 8100. It is for CDMA BB's, the 8100 is GSM. You need to download the latest 4.2 for the 8100 from here:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...f_29jan08.html


    I'm sorry, correction: it is the 4.2 OS I have on my desktop and I downloaded it from ATT site.

  4. #4
    doughdaddy's Avatar
    doughdaddy no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,715
    It still doesn't make sense. You have the 4.2 on your desktop? That is not where it would install. Have you installed the OS onto the PC?

  5. #5
    zmcgeary's Avatar
    zmcgeary no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Are you getting the 513 error? Does DM even recognize the device? Here are a few great resources:

    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...uter_wont.html

    http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...200%2040770705

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    3klub,

    After you downloaded the OS to your desktop from AT&T, did you launch the application that you downloaded so it actually installed on your computer?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    javijavi's Avatar
    javijavi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    178
    If apploader isnt even showing an OS to install then you probably havent installed the OS on your computer to the right place. It should reside in c:\program files\common files\Research in Motion and a few subdirectories beneath.

  8. #8
    3klub's Avatar
    3klub no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    12
    Oh wow!
    I must have had a serious brain fart. Thanks javijavi, GaryF, zmcgeary and doughdaddy for making me realize the most important step I forgot (installing the 4.2 OS download). It being an install file should have given it away. I upgraded OS once before and for some reason I forgot this apart of the process and thought DM would recognizing the OS automatically. Obviously it does, after you install the OS. Thanks folks and sorry for taking up your time with something I actually know. Well y'all have helped make my day. You guys/gals are really on top of your game. Thanks again!!!
    Last edited by 3klub; 04-24-2008 at 05:43 PM. Reason: spelling error

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •