Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

There was a little oversight on TMOs part a while back. You could just set ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Advertisement



    There was a little oversight on TMOs part a while back. You could just set the TCP/APN settings and you could access the internet with Opera. So it wasn't a myth, it was true for just a little bit. Since then they have closed that loophole and required a data plan.

    I do think some people get the "other" plan that's for less...not sure how much though. You can use Opera and access the net, you just don't get the BIS Email and Browser. Not sure if that still works either. Anyways hope it all works out.

  2. #17
    cabron's Avatar
    cabron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2466A9E4
    Posts
    229

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    I have ATT , I have used Mini Opera with an unlimited media plan wich is about 20 dlls less expensive than the blackberry plan, It works for me fine, thats because I am not a heavy email user I use it mostly of the browsing and my fav app google maps.
    BTW I am having the issue of not being able to install the new mini opera on the new tmo os mahelani, couold you post the solution to the install issue?
    -Antonio

  3. #18
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    cabron

    I had lots of problems as well (4 Beta, correct?). What finally worked for me was re-installing Opera 3 - then using opera to go to the operamini.com/beta page. From there Opera took over and the install went fine. Let it open the BB browser and close opera when it asks...

    Let me know if you have any ?'s
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #19
    blkmz3's Avatar
    blkmz3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    473

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Anyone updated opera mini on the new OS? If so, how?

  5. #20
    cabron's Avatar
    cabron no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2466A9E4
    Posts
    229

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    cabron

    I had lots of problems as well (4 Beta, correct?). What finally worked for me was re-installing Opera 3 - then using opera to go to the operamini.com/beta page. From there Opera took over and the install went fine. Let it open the BB browser and close opera when it asks...

    Let me know if you have any ?'s
    i wish I could just do this, as I was saying on my post, I dont have the BB data plan, I have an unlimited media plan and use opera as my browser since the BB browser doesnt work without the BB data plan.
    I appreciate the effor to help me tough
    -Cabron

  6. #21
    mahealani's Avatar
    mahealani no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Quote Originally Posted by cabron
    I have ATT , I have used Mini Opera with an unlimited media plan wich is about 20 dlls less expensive than the blackberry plan, It works for me fine, thats because I am not a heavy email user I use it mostly of the browsing and my fav app google maps.
    BTW I am having the issue of not being able to install the new mini opera on the new tmo os mahelani, couold you post the solution to the install issue?
    -Antonio

    Well, I finally was able to install Opera. I overlooked it on the DM. I did not have to search for it, it was already on the list of programs, ready to install, but I did not check it to install it!

    It took a while to figure out b/c the list was soooooo long... but when I found out the problem I felt so dumb lol.. I guess that's the life of an impatient person...
    Last edited by mahealani; 08-31-2007 at 07:49 PM.

  7. #22
    mahealani's Avatar
    mahealani no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Quote Originally Posted by cabron
    i wish I could just do this, as I was saying on my post, I dont have the BB data plan, I have an unlimited media plan and use opera as my browser since the BB browser doesnt work without the BB data plan.
    I appreciate the effor to help me tough
    -Cabron
    I overlooked your msg -

    I have a question: What exactly can you do with the limited BB plan? Can you at least e-mail?

    My main concern is to e-mail.

  8. #23
    YoungMon707's Avatar
    YoungMon707 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    my pearl has probs with the network when i install the opera baeta 4 and i dont know what to do can ya'll help me?

  9. #24
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Quote Originally Posted by YoungMon707
    my pearl has probs with the network when i install the opera baeta 4 and i dont know what to do can ya'll help me?
    Who is your carrier? Did you input your APN settings?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  10. #25
    fallenangelx1's Avatar
    fallenangelx1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    well i have a nextel 7100i, with out the datat pakage and im able to use mini opera with out it, i just can't download anything. however im trying to do the same with the 8100 pearl but no luck. it wont install.

  11. #26
    Mclane's Avatar
    Mclane no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    250358AA
    Posts
    25

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    working fine on my pearl
    the best way to download it i think is OTA
    i had the Opera mini 3 before and my pearl deletes it itself to install Opera mini 4
    perfect i love it !!!

  12. #27
    blkmz3's Avatar
    blkmz3 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    473

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Quote Originally Posted by mahealani View Post
    Well, I was able to finally install Opera mini. Now I have to sign up for the data pkg.

    You all are right - all myths!
    Myth Busters to the rescue!!
    Last edited by blkmz3; 03-05-2008 at 10:36 AM.

  13. #28
    amandarust's Avatar
    amandarust no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2447fd7b
    Posts
    110

    Re: Installing Opera Mini w/ New TMo Update

    Plz help! I had another bb and mini opera worked just fine! But now I have a 8100 with tmobile & My os is 4.2 and its not workin! after downloadin ota then when I click the miniopera icon it starts to install but it takes a lil bit then it asks 2 allow a low conection an I allow then a second later it asks 2 allow opera 2 use internet conection so I aprove then it comes up that it can't conect 2 the internet!?? I do have internet & the extra bb unlimited plan so I don't get it? I've deleted and redownloaded several times but nothing helps! What could b wrong!??

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •