I have had a lot of experience with electronics before, and I have been trying ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

Firedragon64 no está en línea Stack level 2
    PIN/ID
    2576A7A6

Question Installing a New Screen

Advertisement

I have had a lot of experience with electronics before, and I have been trying to help my friend out the past few days with his BlackBerry 8100. I used to own one until I upgraded to the 8120, and they're both amazing phones.

The particular one that he has is kinda old, and has been through a lot of hands. Nonetheless it worked fine until a few days ago he said he smashed it in a door as it fell out of his hand. At first it worked just fine, until what I can guess about 15 minutes later, it reset with the red light coming on, and then never returned. Apparently once fully booted (despite the fact that the screen remains black) he can receive phone calls and texts, but the keyboard doesn't respond to allow him to answer the calls.

I disassembled the device I quickly found out that the screen was badly damaged, when looked at from the side it had a huge dent from where it was split in half by the door, strangely though, this did not actually crack the screen, just deemed it useless.

Now I come to you to ask which would be better to try, on Ebay there are screens that sell for about 25 dollars, and if we purchase one and install it, I don't want to find out that the keyboard is bad now too. I don't know how I would test the keyboard really, simply because if it can't answer a phone call when the screen is out then I figure that might be the keyboard as well, but maybe because the screen is out, the whole device is malufunctioning?