Results 1 to 13 of 13

I've been trying off & on to install the IM+ demo on my pearl for ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    kpishdadi's Avatar
    kpishdadi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    201

    IM+ on Pearl

    Advertisement



    I've been trying off & on to install the IM+ demo on my pearl for a week now.

    I've got a mac so via pocket mac it keeps locking up, freezing the app and freezing my phone.

    If I try to install ota it gets an error when it's almost done downloading.

    Has anyone else had this problem, or has anyone successfully installed IM+ on their pearl ?

    I don't want to purchase it if I can't even get the demo to install...

  2. #2
    Len's Avatar
    Len
    Len no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    80

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    Sorry, only instaled it via a PC and it was worth it , keep trying, can you not use a friends PC? you wont regret it.

  3. #3
    Yardsmon's Avatar
    Yardsmon no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    thats a great suggestion. I have a mac and a pc it wouldn't work with my mac but worked fine from my pc.

  4. #4
    kpishdadi's Avatar
    kpishdadi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    201

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    I have a PC.. just don't sync on it and rarely use it since I got my macbook pro. I'll try that. Thanks for the tip!

  5. #5
    jpb39's Avatar
    jpb39 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2051A3C8
    Posts
    6

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    In my experience, PM will install simple apps but it inevitably hangs while installing apps that contain multiple files. Sometimes it will hang the Pearl in the process, and the partial installation is not recognized as an application, so you can't easily delete it without first successfully installing it using the Blackberry Desktop Software. The best option on a Mac is to install Parallels then install BDS. So far, every app I have tried can be installed this way. It is even *possible* to upgrade the Pearl's OS via Parallels; I managed it once, but unless you want a crash course in JVM error codes, it's probably a better idea just to use a PC until the USB support in Parallels is a bit more predictable.

    FWIW, IM+ 4.2.3 works flawlessly on my Pearl.

    JPB
    8300 / 02 UK
    BIS 4.2.2.67

  6. #6
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by jpb39
    IM+ 4.2.3 works flawlessly on my Pearl.

    My IM+ version is 4.2p are you sure you have the special Pearl only version ?

  7. #7
    kpishdadi's Avatar
    kpishdadi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    201

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    Yea I had the pearl version. I used my hubby's dell laptop to install it last night. works like a charm

  8. #8
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    For the people that do have IM+ does yours notify you when people sign on or off ? I use the support option in the menus to ask them and they said it should.

    Mine only notifys me if I get an IM not when someone signs on or off.

  9. #9
    kpishdadi's Avatar
    kpishdadi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    201

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    mine doesnt but id rather it doesnt anyways. my list is way too big for that.

  10. #10
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    Anyone else have any Yahoo issues ?

    Mine works fine with AIM and Google Talk but I get knocked out of Yahoo at least once a day with "password error". Its strange as I was already connected for hours and it wont auto reconnect, I have to do it manually.

  11. #11
    kpishdadi's Avatar
    kpishdadi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    201

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    Did you connect on a pc? I get kicked off of yahoo and msn when i sign on with my macbook. i wish they would allow dual logins like aim does

  12. #12
    jpb39's Avatar
    jpb39 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    2051A3C8
    Posts
    6

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    Quote Originally Posted by rkkeller
    My IM+ version is 4.2p are you sure you have the special Pearl only version ?
    You're right; I have 4.23p -- the regular 4.2.3 lacks trackball support.

    JPB
    8300 / 02 UK
    BIS 4.2.2.67

  13. #13
    rkkeller's Avatar
    rkkeller no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    379

    Re: IM+ on Pearl

    My Yahoo disconnecting issue is happening every day still. I will be signed on and then it gives me the bad password message or just not be connected when I go to use it.

    The AIM works much better but still not perfect.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •