Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 83

So, is it safe to assume that w/o a media card in the phone, the ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #46
    skiterry's Avatar
    skiterry no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Advertisement



    So, is it safe to assume that w/o a media card in the phone, the mass storage function isn't available. IOW, I can't download the pics on my phone?

  2. #47
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Correct, your phones memory is primarily for programs, if you do not have a media card then you can still save a few photos and such to your phone. However, too much and you will bog your phone down. You will gain a lot more functionality from your phone if you have a media card.

  3. #48
    setec0001's Avatar
    setec0001 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    ~via BB

    Got a new Kingston microSD 1gb card today. I cannot get this to work. Using a blackberry pearl 8100 from.T-Mobile. I have tried reseating the card multiple times but cannot not get the OS to recognize the card. It says there is no card inserted.

    I have read through all these posts. Any ideas? Thanks.

    (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #49
    Kortanis's Avatar
    Kortanis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA980E
    Posts
    343

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    I'm not sure, might be the card, a lot of the people seem to have trouble with the Kingston cards.

    As a general rule of thumb I stay away from them as well. In my experience I've found that Sandisk cards are worth the investment, and any card that I'll be using for something important I'll buy from the first party manufacturer. The more valuable the data the more I'll spend to make sure it's a quality card.

  5. #50
    setec0001's Avatar
    setec0001 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    ~via BB

    Yeah, this card was $10 off the net, new.

    When I get home and have access to a reader, I will test the card on a PC.

  6. #51
    420nyc's Avatar
    420nyc no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    i just got the kingston 2gb sdmicro,,,, formated it.. says it completed it succesfully... says i have 1.89gb free.. but does not install the folders as it has on my old media card... any one have this problem as well?

  7. #52
    Caleab's Avatar
    Caleab no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    thank you for the "How To". Excellent pictures and instructions.

    Most greatful =)

    Cal

  8. #53
    kidblue's Avatar
    kidblue no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Well done. Just what I needed. I had the darn thing wedged in (not slid in) and it was protruding and just waiting for a potential jiggle to screw it all up...
    FYI to all you OS X/Mac users... With PocketMac, you'll need to either connect without mass storage (no mount) to sync, or connect with mass storage to browse the memory card's storage. You'll have to disconnect and/or restart PocketMac between each of those. You can't have it mounted with mass storage AND sync in one go...

  9. #54
    deadlettergirl's Avatar
    deadlettergirl no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    I followed these excellent instructions for installing the card (thank you!) and my phone isn't turning on afterwards. The red light is intermittedly flashing. Charging it doesn't seem to help. I feel like I am probably missing something basic. Any ideas?

  10. #55
    bigtlover's Avatar
    bigtlover no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Question Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Quote Originally Posted by 420nyc
    i just got the kingston 2gb sdmicro,,,, formated it.. says it completed it succesfully... says i have 1.89gb free.. but does not install the folders as it has on my old media card... any one have this problem as well?
    Same problem
    Kingston 2g MicroSD
    BB 8830

    Card is formatted, 1.8 GB available

    I don't see the card in Media Manager when Mass Storage Mode Support is off and when I turn it on, XP recognizes it and lists it as a device but I don't get a drive letter. I've been messing with this for a few hours and I'm about to toss this thing out the window. Is it the Kingston SD that is causing the problem???

  11. #56
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    I have read posts of problems with the Kingston but I would suggest you check your settings - on the 8100 you would look under Options>Advanced>Media Card

    Make sure that Media Card Support is "ON"
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #57
    libtech's Avatar
    libtech no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    does anyone know where to buy a replacement latch/door for the media card? i have searched around quite a bit and can't find anything.

  13. #58
    bigtlover's Avatar
    bigtlover no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF
    I have read posts of problems with the Kingston but I would suggest you check your settings - on the 8100 you would look under Options>Advanced>Media Card

    Make sure that Media Card Support is "ON"
    I should have known Microsoft would be responsible. I installed the desktop software before I bought my microSD and that is the root of the problem. Basically, some drivers do not get installed when the memory card is out but this is not corrected when the card is added so....
    Unplug your BB from your computer
    In Device Manager under Universal Serial Bus Controller, delete any reference to your BB
    plug BB back in and that fixes everything
    Hope this helps

  14. #59
    susarlasusarla's Avatar
    susarlasusarla no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Excellent post Thanks a lot.

  15. #60
    mamatollefson82's Avatar
    mamatollefson82 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: How to: Install or Remove a MicroSD Chip

    Where was this last night!!! It took me AND my cousin almost an hour to put th damn thing in. Once I figurerd it out I couldbly believe how simple it was. Now I know to look here before I do anything! Thanks!

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •