Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25

~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i think that's the issue here and its probably not going to be ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #16
    benritmeyer's Avatar
    benritmeyer no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    20752839
    Posts
    229

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    Advertisement



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i think that's the issue here and its probably not going to be resolved till you get one! Which network are you on?

  2. #17
    theuprightman24's Avatar
    theuprightman24 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    90

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    UK O2 with a data plan, wifi browser works email sent using edge / GPrs.

  3. #18
    benritmeyer's Avatar
    benritmeyer no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    20752839
    Posts
    229

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~oh there's no doubt it will work with a data plan but we've pretty much established it won't work without a data plan!

  4. #19
    theuprightman24's Avatar
    theuprightman24 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    90

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by benritmeyer View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~oh there's no doubt it will work with a data plan but we've pretty much established it won't work without a data plan!

    Yep yep -- how do I get it to work -- like I said I can get WIFI to work via the browser but can not send email this way, still shows edge / GPRS?

    Thanks

  5. #20
    boomboom's Avatar
    boomboom no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    retired
    Posts
    486

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    Things that work with data will only work with data. Only basically the internet browser will work with wifi, that is if you have the the right service book. Also Opera Mini should work with Wifi.

    As for using the built in e-mail program, you need data.

  6. #21
    theuprightman24's Avatar
    theuprightman24 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    90

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    Quote Originally Posted by boomboom View Post
    Things that work with data will only work with data. Only basically the internet browser will work with wifi, that is if you have the the right service book. Also Opera Mini should work with Wifi.

    As for using the built in e-mail program, you need data.

    Not really the answer I was after but thats that then -- many thanks

  7. #22
    kiNgs0r's Avatar
    kiNgs0r no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    I do experience the exact same problem. It'd be nice to know how I can get WiFi to work properly. My 8120 connects to the Network, it receives an IP address an I am even able to ping it. But the Browser still won't work via WiFi, although I switched it to WiFi.
    Last edited by kiNgs0r; 01-12-2008 at 03:32 PM.

  8. #23
    dancoombes's Avatar
    dancoombes no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to get WIFI to work on Pearl 8120

    Hi

    I have been reading these things for quite a while but this is my 1st post so hope I don't mess this up or put too much in here anyway here goes
    I have just got an 8120 and have got a service provider and a data plabn and all email works throught EDGE/GPRS but I was interested in getting WI-FI working for browsing is there any advantage is it faster so I have managed to get the 8120 to register with my router and set the default browser to the WI-FI browser but when I turn off the mobile network connection and try and browse I get
    a message to the effect "The radio is off or the battery to low as a result the browser cannot retriefve any pages"

    The 8120 is getting an IP address and I can ping it from my PC on the other side of the router

    I have got the following diagmostics off the 8120

    -----
    Wi-Fi
    Current Profile: dan343
    SSID: dan343
    AP MAC Address: 00:11:BF:09:03:2D
    Security Type: WEP
    Local IP Address: 191.167.2.3
    Signal Level: -53 dBm
    Connection Data Rate: 54 Mbps
    Status: Network acquired

    VPN
    Current Profile:
    Concentrator Address:
    Contact: N/A
    Authentication: N/A
    Secure Device IP:
    Status: VPN profile is not found.

    Enterprise
    UIDs:
    Connecting: Trying...
    Authenticating router: N/A
    Authenticating server: N/A

    BlackBerry Infrastructure
    Connecting: Successful
    Authenticating router: Successful
    Authenticating server: Successful

    Any ideas

    Thanks in advance

  9. #24
    Dbspiel529's Avatar
    Dbspiel529 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    27
    no but i have the same problem as you because i am trying to use wifi internet without a data plan

  10. #25
    HuwSy's Avatar
    HuwSy no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    155
    iv the same problem on o2 uk, im on bis but theres a known problem with the bis wifi provisioning service books so instead o2 provided everyone with the bes provisioning which should resolve this wifi and setup completely, ie green icon in connection and solid wifi icon. but mine is still only yellow snd only works in the wifi browser. iv tried wiping the dev and reinstalling 4.3.0.115 but still no go. any ideas?
    Huw - www.huenik.com
    Bb 8220 4.6...

    I will test my hosting companys claims of unlimited webspace and unlimited bandwidth. Ideas?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •