Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

am not sure how you guys enter 800-GOFEDEX, 800-PICKUPS, etc. Since we do not have ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    readersthink's Avatar
    readersthink no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3

    Question how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    Advertisement



    am not sure how you guys enter 800-GOFEDEX, 800-PICKUPS, etc. Since we do not have ordinary keys (like ABC for "2" key) on the Pearl. And many times companies do not spell out the numerals. Hope there is an work-around other than memorizing or carrying an ordinary numeric phone keypad....LOL

  2. #2
    simeezee's Avatar
    simeezee no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    215C1928
    Posts
    296

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    hold alt key then dial

  3. #3
    LinkinX's Avatar
    LinkinX no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    50

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    lol never thought of that prob, but yea that works- just spell it out then the phone knows what # to dial

  4. #4
    avante's Avatar
    avante no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    2405C4B1
    Posts
    638

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    I didn't even realize you could do that until like a month ago I was embarassed for not knowing and excited to learn!

  5. #5
    readersthink's Avatar
    readersthink no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    Perfect, thank you so much simeezee

  6. #6
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    WOW! LOL! I didn't know that either!

  7. #7
    SeRViiCiiO's Avatar
    SeRViiCiiO no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,119

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    i didn kno that!!!!
    Thanx simeezee!!

  8. #8
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    i just had to call 800pickups and i tried this tip and it was a pain. it doesn't try to spell the words for you so i assumed it was multitap and when i hit "6"(jk) for the k it gives me 2 k's, and 2 i's and 2 p's, etc. so i have to keep deleting one of those letters as i try to spell & it just becomes more of a nuisance than just looking at a normal phone to figure out the numbers.

    any ideas??

  9. #9
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    i just had to call 800pickups and i tried this tip and it was a pain. it doesn't try to spell the words for you so i assumed it was multitap and when i hit "6"(jk) for the k it gives me 2 k's, and 2 i's and 2 p's, etc. so i have to keep deleting one of those letters as i try to spell & it just becomes more of a nuisance than just looking at a normal phone to figure out the numbers.

    any ideas??
    I just did it on my pearl. It turns it into multitap if you hold down the ALT key. The green phone icon should turn into an ABC symbol. Works fine for me.

  10. #10
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    everytime i do it it spells the previous letter twice.

    ex. after 800 i hold the alt key and see the abc. i hit the op button and get a single p, then i hit #3 button twice for the i and on my screen it shows 800ppi, then i hit the #7 for the c and then the #6 twice for the k and it shows 800ppicck. so i have to keep deleting.

    oh wll, wwhaat ddo yyouu ddo? ha

  11. #11
    kayos72's Avatar
    kayos72 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,504

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    mudshovel do a quick batt pull
    phone on batt out 30 sec then back in and retry
    also which os are you operating on?
    Been a long while since last login. Sorry all, adjusting to a new life is great and hell at the same time!!

  12. #12
    mudshovel's Avatar
    mudshovel no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    1,314

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    tim 1.66, & i will try the battery pull

  13. #13
    mqasim's Avatar
    mqasim no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    20508e6b
    Posts
    196

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    Pearl is a genius. I was having conversation with my friend I was telling him this is one downside of pearl, but I guess the pearl has proved me wrong yet again. Crazy! 8100/4.2.1.66 <- I am using that version, and I'm having the same problem though. Sometimes it types two times or something!
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    LindaUbik's Avatar
    LindaUbik no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    Duh. I'm really glad I read this post. I read another post somewhere else where somebody had taken a photo of a key pad... sounded like too much work to me!

  15. #15
    VeryBerry's Avatar
    VeryBerry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    354

    Re: how to dial 800-iam-stuck

    Quote Originally Posted by mudshovel
    everytime i do it it spells the previous letter twice.

    ex. after 800 i hold the alt key and see the abc. i hit the op button and get a single p, then i hit #3 button twice for the i and on my screen it shows 800ppi, then i hit the #7 for the c and then the #6 twice for the k and it shows 800ppicck. so i have to keep deleting.

    oh wll, wwhaat ddo yyouu ddo? ha
    I have that same problem Mud...I've tried so many diff things and have asked but nobody seems to know how to fix it. REEALLYY ANNOOYINGG. At least I don't have to dial too many word numbers. If I would have known about this a few months ago I would have tried it with my old os...but I'm not about to downgrade to find out.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •