Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Hello, On the old BB's you could move the wheel to silence the ringer, but ... BlackBerry Pearl forum

  1. #1
    pep69's Avatar
    pep69 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Question How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    Advertisement



    Hello,

    On the old BB's you could move the wheel to silence the ringer, but it wouldn't send the call to vm until the normal number of rings occurred. I don't want callers to know I am sending them to vm, but I also don't want to have my phone continue to ring. Help!

  2. #2
    N8DBB's Avatar
    N8DBB no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    PIN/ID
    7BCE3C88
    Posts
    6,028

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    Well...When the call comes in, you should have an option to "answer" or "ignore".

    Just move the trackwheel down to ignore, but don't press the trackball in or the enter button, and it will continue ringing but be silenced until vm picks up.

  3. #3
    ljbyar's Avatar
    ljbyar no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    7,818

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    Hello Pep and Welcome to the Stacks. Let us know if there is anything else we can help with.

  4. #4
    pep69's Avatar
    pep69 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Smile Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    I tried rolling the tracball to Ignore WITHOUT pushing in or enter but it continued to ring.

    Any other suggestions?????

  5. #5
    pep69's Avatar
    pep69 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    I tried that and it didn't silence the ring. HELP!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. #6
    moses2628's Avatar
    moses2628 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,946

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    There is a mute button on top of the pearl. Its a silver button with the sound icon on it with a line going through it. Pressing that silences the calls and doesn't send it to voicemail.

  7. #7
    missjayne's Avatar
    missjayne no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E24640
    Posts
    39

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    i had the same question before and the mute button on top that moses2628 was reffering to works wonders

  8. #8
    moses2628's Avatar
    moses2628 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,946

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    Didn't know what that button was or that exist till someone on this website informed me!!!!!!

  9. #9
    EXR's Avatar
    EXR
    EXR no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    I tried that button and it only worked for abot one second. it's just like rolling the trackball. Is there any other way to silence the ringer in one keystroke?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    isepic's Avatar
    isepic no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    I press the vol up/down key - BUT, if your ringer is SHORT, it will replay it over and you'd have to hit the vol key again and again, if your ringer is LONG, then it will silence it until they goto VM (and they won't know you pressed the button, which is what I think you want to do here, let it goto VM w/o going there "instantly" and the calling knowing it).

  11. #11
    mbarlow's Avatar
    mbarlow no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23E81EC0
    Posts
    62

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    When placing in standby mode you must hold the mute button down until you get a prompt on the screen. Oh, and just in case you don't have time to read the prompt, hit the mute button again to exit standby mode.

  12. #12
    squ34k's Avatar
    squ34k no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    23EAD2EE
    Posts
    240

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    Have you tried just hitting the volume button once? Usually mutes the ringer.
    Will you be my friend?
    AIM: killaninjamnky
    Y!: isitupsidedown
    MSN: squ34k@gmail.com
    PIN - 23EAD2EE


  13. #13
    EXR's Avatar
    EXR
    EXR no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Thanks for the tips all, but I still have the same problem. When I receive a call the Pearl rings I hit the mute button at the top and the it stops ringing for a second or so, then the ringtone starts again. If I press and hold my mute key it doesn't go to standby mode while a call is coming it acts the same as if I tapped the mute key. I'm using a song for my ringtone that is stored on my memory card, does anyone have any ideas. My Pearl has Rogers original software out of the box. Is there maybe an update that will fix this?

  14. #14
    dmaestro22's Avatar
    dmaestro22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    My Solution: Hold the top mute button down for a couple seconds. If you tap it, it only temporarily mutes, but if you hold it down a few seconds it mutes it for the duration of the incoming call.

    Thanks to all the tips on this post I was able to play with that mute button and figure this out. It was really annoying me I could not silence the ringer.

    Hope this helps!

  15. #15
    dmaestro22's Avatar
    dmaestro22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: How to silence ringer w/out sending it straight to vm

    Append to previous post:

    I'm on version v4.2.0.64 (Platform 2.2.0.37)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •